Bartercard Cup Franchise Licenses

The screening of franchise license applications for Bartercard Cup was completed Friday 30 September with all NZRL Directors endorsing the recommendations of the review panel headed by Vice Chairman Sel Bennett.

All applicants both successful and unsuccessful have since been contacted, with confirmation that 10 franchise licenses will be granted for the 2006-2007 seasons.

The new format will include five teams from Auckland serving clusters of clubs within regional boundaries identified for the North Shore, Central Auckland, Waitakere, South-East Auckland and Counties-Manukau.

The five regional franchises outside Auckland will be based in Northland, Waikato (Wai Coa Bay), Manawatu (Central), Wellington and Canterbury.

The ?housekeeping? required to formalise franchise structures will now commence with a detailed announcement regarding the competition format expected to be made this week.

Franchise details and contacts will be released at that time.