Comets Ready For Raid


The Minniecon & Burke Comets Pre-Season Challenge concludes on Saturday, February 26 when the Rockhampton Leagues Club Comets clash with the Canberra Raiders at Browne Park, Rockhampton.

Both the Comets and the Raiders have named their line ups for the match with the Comets including new signings Andrew Dale and Damien Wilkes in their side.

CQ Development Squad product Tyron Haynes has been added to the Comets top squad after impressive trial form and a great work ethic at training.

Bartercard Cup 2003 player of the year Toby Wallace was set to start in the second row however has been rested with a back injury. Others rested due to injury are Clint Wallace(calf) and Mark Henry(hand).

Chris Fleming, John Bidgood and Clint Rothery have all secured run on spots after having strong games for Comets White in their 34-18 victory over Mackay Souths.

An interesting clash will be that of the two Rothery brothers with Clint and Alan on opposing sides.

While this is the Comets final trial, all players will have a chance to push for selection before the Queensland Cup kicks off in round one of the Central Queensland Extended League on Sunday, March 6.

This is also a great chance for Central Queensland to see National Rugby League stars Simon Woolford and former New Zealand international Tyran Smith as well as the best of the Raiders young up and coming talent in Bronx Goodwin, Marshall Chalk, Beau Mundine, Todd Carney and Josh Miller.

The Raiders will be signing autographs at Stockland Rockhampton from 11am on the morning of the game.

The curtain raiser will be a great clash as well with the QR Comets Development Squad facing a Rex Gambled led Fitzroy-Gracemere Sharks outfit. Returning from injury in the Development Squad will be Dallas Williams who is looking for match fitness after a long lay off.

Comets 1.Clint Rothery, 2.John Tamanika, 3.Tui McKenzie, 4.Matt Hill, 5.Jimmy McConachy, 6.Jade Wogand, 7.Aoterangi Herangi, 8.Kurt Cawdron, 9.Chris Fleming, 10.Kane Hardy, 11.Herewini Rangi, 12.John Bidgood, 13.David Nixon. Bench: 14. Damien Wilkes, 15. Mick Esdale, 16.Trent Callaghan, 17.Mitch Wyatte, 18.Todd Brandon, 19.Adam Geddes, 20.John Faupula, 21.Trent McKinlay, 22.Ryan Peters, 23.Andrew Dale, 24.Tyron Haynes, 25.Fili Sofa, 26.Damien Seibold.

Raiders 1.Bronx Goodwin, 2.Michael Robertson, 3.Marshall Chalk, 4.Beau Mundine, 5.David Milne, 6.Todd Carney, 7.William Zillman, 8.Josh Miller, 9.Simon Woolford, 10.Willie Raston, 11.Alan Rothery, 12.Michael Howell, 13.Tyran Smith. Bench: 14.Channon McAskill, 15.Steve McLean, 16.Adrian Purtell, 17.Scott Briggs, 18.Alex Blayden, 19.Jarred Lawrence

Minniecon and Burke Pre-season Challenge Match #3 details:

Rockhampton Leagues Club Comets V.S Canberra Raiders Saturday February 26 @ Browne Park, Rockhampton

4.00pm Gates Open 4.30pm Under 15's Emerald Raiders V Gladstone Brothers 6.00pm QR Comets Development Squad V Fitzroy-Gracemere Sharks 8.00pm Rockhampton Leagues Club Comets V Canberra Raiders

The Comets would like to thank the following for their continued support in 2005 Minniecon & Burke, Rockhampton Leagues Club, Pauls Milk, Skilled, DC Motors, Bundaberg Rum, Queensland Rail, Stockland Rockhampton, WIN Television and the Morning Bulletin.

Tickets are available at the Information Desk of Stockland Rockhampton. Ticket holders who pre purchase tickets from Stockland Rockhampton will go into a draw to win a $500 gift voucher to be drawn at half time of the main game.

Reserved Grandstand Tickets - $15.00 General Admission Tickets - $12.00 Concession Tickets - $6.00

RELATED ARTICLES: Nixon Pumped To Face Former Club Callaghan keen to cement Comets berth Haynes Leads QR Comets Development Squad To Victory

In the coming weeks Harko's Bargain Warehouse will be releasing Central Queensland Comets merchandise and more North Queensland Cowboys collectables. Stay tuned for more.