Jarryd Hayne wins Ken Thornett Medal for 2nd consecutive year

Last night Parramatta Eels fullback Jarryd Hayne was awarded the prestigious Ken Thornett Medal for the second year in a row at the club's 2010 Presentation Night.

Parramatta Eels captain Nathan Cayless was also honoured at the presentation night with a touching tribute from Eric Grothe Sr and Eric Grothe Jr performing My Hero by Foo Fighters and was presented with a special one-off ring for his service to the club.

The Eels' young stars were also featured, with Justin Horo taking out the Eric Grothe Rookie of the Year award, while Tim Mannah was awarded the Jack Gibson NRL Coaches Award.

Past players Steve Ella, Brett Kenny, Ken Thornett and Geoff Gerard attended the event and presented awards to the club's newest crop of rising stars.

Hayne, who also won the Ken Thornett Medal for his standout season in 2009, said the award was a good way to finish a sometimes disappointing season.