NSW Origin team

There are some huge shocks in the New South Wales rugby league team named today for State of Origin I against Queensland at Suncorp Stadium on June 11.

Shaun Timmins has been named at five-eighth in place of Braith Anasta, who has been left out of the side altogether. The seemingly unloved Matt Gidley has won a centre birth, partnering Parramatta's Jamie Lyon. Michael De Vere has snuck in on the wing with Timana Tahu's rousing performance against the Broncos yesterday catapulting him to the other wing.

As expected though, Anthony Minichiello has beaten rival David Peachey to the fullback's position.

There are fewer surprises in the forward pack, with Phil Bailey a bolter on the bench and in-form prop Robbie Kearns given a start following some good displays of late.

The full team is:

Anthony Minichiello Timana Tahu Matt Gidley Jamie Lyon Michael De Vere Shaun Timmins Andrew Johns (c) Robbie Kearns Danny Buderus Jason Ryles Ben Kennedy Craig Fitzgibbon Luke Ricketson

Res: Craig Wing, Josh Perry, Phil Bailey, Luke Bailey.