Provisional draw for Tri-Series and
European Nations Cup released

The first provisional draw for the 2004 European Nations Cup and Tri-Series tournaments has been released, and whilst no venues have been announced, there is the indication that Australia and New Zealand will play their respective fixtures against each other downunder.

Tournament kicks off one day after the Super League Grand final, with Australia and New Zealand scheduled to play each other on Sunday October 17, and then match up again just five days later. Surprisingly Great Britain V Australia which would be one of the premier matches of the tournament is placed on a Tuesday night, with all other matches featuring on Saturdays.

Australia is pencilled in to play Wales and France during off weeks in the tournament, however that match against Wales may be changed to being against England A or another nation after Neil Kelly?s comments last year.

A match between New Zealand and France and even Great Britain and France are expected to be added to the final fixture list.

The provisional draw as released in the Guardian Newspaper: Satuday 16 October Super League Grand Final Sunday 17 October Australia v New Zealand Friday 22 October Australia v New Zealand Saturday 23 October Wales v Russia / Ireland v France (ENC) Tuesday 26 October Great Britain v Australia Saturday 30 October England v Russia / France v Scotland (ENC) Sunday 31 October Great Britain v New Zealand Monday 1 November Wales v Australia Saturday 6 November Great Britain v Australia / Wales v England / Scotland v Ireland (ENC) Saturday 13 November Great Britain v New Zealand / France v Australia Saturday 20 November Tri-Nations Final Sunday 21 November ENC final

Like

Your Two Cents...

No one has commented on this page yet. Why not kick things off?