QLD side for Game I of 2005 State
of Origin

Today at 2.05pm, the QLD selectors responded with their best 17 men to take on New South Wales in this year's first State of Origin clash on their home soil.

Billy Slater has wrested the custodial duties from incumbent Rhys Wesser whilst Ty Williams makes his debut on the wing.

The contentious halfback position has been decided with Jonathan Thurston beating out Scott Prince. Michael Crocker has been selected in the second row following his controversial Premier League appearance at the weekend along with former Kiwi's Brad Thorn and Tonie Carroll.

Ben Ross has been given a go from the bench and the rest of the team is pretty much as expected.

The official QLD side is:

Billy Slater Ty Williams Shaun Berrigan Paul Bowman Matt Sing Darren Lockyer (c) Jonathan Thurston Steve Price Cameron Smith Petero Civoniceva Michael Crocker Brad Thorn Tonie Carroll

Interchange: Ben Ross, Carl Webb, Chris Flannery, Matt Bowen.