Queensland State of Origin squad

Queensland has named four rookies in its 22-man State of Origin rugby league squad released today.

Back rower Michael Crocker and centre Shannon Hegarty from the Roosters, Bulldogs five eighth Jonathon Thurston and Penrith fullback Rhys Wesser are the new faces in the squad announced by Queensland Rugby League chairman John McDonald.

Queensland selector Gene Miles stressed players not named in the 22-man squad, which will be cut to 17 players 10 days out from the first Origin match in Brisbane on June 11, could still make the team. The squad includes 10 Brisbane Broncos including Queensland captain Gorden Tallis.

Selectors have picked players from seven different clubs.

The 22-man Queensland State of Origin rugby league squad named today: -

Shaun Berrigan (Broncos) Paul Bowman (Cowboys) Dane Carlaw (Broncos) Tonie Carroll (Broncos) Petero Civoniceva (Broncos) Michael Crocker (Roosters) Chris Flannery (Roosters) Shannon Hegarty (Roosters) Justin Hodges (Roosters) Ben Ikin (Broncos) Darren Lockyer (Broncos) PJ Marsh (Warriors) Brad Meyers (Broncos) Travis Norton (Bulldogs) Steve Price (Bulldogs) Clinton Schifcofske (Raiders) Matt Sing (Cowboys) Gorden Tallis (Broncos) Brent Tate (Broncos) Johnathon Thurston (Bulldogs) Shane Webcke (Broncos) Rhys Wesser (Panthers)

The squad will assemble in Brisbane on Sunday for an overnight Origin briefing.