Storm trio
selected for Australian squad

Melbourne Storm trio Matt Orford, Scott Hill and Cameron Smith have been selected for the 25-man preliminary Australian squad for the Anzac Test against New Zealand in Newcastle on Friday 23 April.

Halfback Orford has been in ominous form already this year after a stellar 2003 season, while five-eighth Hill is looking to regain his Test spot after working his way back from ongoing shoulder injuries last year.

20-year-old Smith has fast developed a reputation as one of the bright young stars of the National Rugby League following his breakout season with the Storm last year.

The Melbourne hooker made a stunning State of Origin debut for Queensland last season before being named the Storm Rookie of the Year at the end of 2003.

Early Autralian squad:

Luke Bailey (St George Illawarra), Trent Barrett (St George Illawarra), Danny Buderus (Newcastle), Petero Civoniceva (Brisbane), Joel Clinton (Penrith), Michael Crocker (Sydney Roosters), Craig Fitzgibbon (Sydney Roosters), Chris Flannery (Sydney Roosters), Bryan Fletcher (Souths), Matthew Gidley (Newcastle), Craig Gower (Penrith), Scott Hill (Melbourne), Justin Hodges (Sydney Roosters), Ben Kennedy (Newcastle), Brett Kimmorley (Cronulla), Darren Lockyer (Brisbane), Anthony Minichiello (Sydney Roosters), Matt Orford (Melbourne), Matt Sing (North Queensland), Cameron Smith (Melbourne), Timana Tahu (Newcastle), Brent Tate (Brisbane), Shaun Timmins (St George Illawarra), Trent Waterhouse (Penrith), Shane Webcke (Brisbane).

The final Australian team will be announced on Sunday April 18 ahead of the Anzac Test.

Meanwhile the third-placed Storm head to Brisbane this Sunday to take on the Broncos at Suncorp Stadium.

For further information contact

James Avery: Phone (03) 9421 3222 Mobile: 0411 623 024 [email protected]