Titans name 21-man squad for Cowboys trial

Jetstar Gold Coast Titans Coach John Cartwright is one step closer to settling on a side for the club's season opening blockbuster against the Dragons after today naming a strong 21-man line-up for Saturday night's pre-season trial match against the North Queensland Cowboys in Cairns.

After utilising the services of 25 players in last Saturday night's impressive 42-4 trial match win over Souths in Coffs Harbour, Cartwright has condensed the squad to 21 as he looks to fine-tune combinations in the club's final pre-season hit-out before the Round 1 clash against the Dragons at Skilled Park on Saturday, March 12.

Indigenous All Stars representative Ryan James returns from a one match suspension to play his first pre-season match for the Jetstar Titans, while utility Luke O'Dwyer has been ruled out after sustaining a rib injury in last weekend's win over the Rabbitohs.

In other team changes, youngsters Jordan Rankin, Matt Srama and Luke Page will all return to NYC Under-20s duties this weekend. Fullback William Zillman remains sidelined due to a back injury, with Kyogle flyer Shannon Walker again filling in at the back in his absence.

Super subs Preston Campbell and Luke Capewell have both been included on an eight-man interchange bench after performing strongly in the win over the Rabbitohs.

The Jetstar Titans will return to the Gold Coast today following a three-day training camp in Coffs Harbour before flying out to Cairns on Friday morning.

7pm - Saturday, February 26

Barlow Park, Cairns

1  Shannon Walker                                        
2  Kevin Gordon                                             
3  Steve Michaels                                           
4  Clinton Toopi                                              
5  David Mead                                                 
6  Greg Bird                                                    
7  Scott Prince                                                           
8  Luke Bailey                                                 
9  Riley Brown                                                 
10  Matthew White                                         
11  Sam Tagataese                                      
12  Bodene Thompson                                
13  Ashley Harrison                          

14  Michael Henderson
15  Ben Ridge
16  Will Matthews
17  Preston Campbell
18  Ryan James
19  Joseph Tomane
20  Luke Capewell
21  Kayne Lawton