Wales World Cup Qualifiers Squad

Wales have released a list of 49 players that they will be considering for selection for their World Cup qualifiers, due to be held in October-November in 2006 and 2007.

The list includes Iestyn Harris, Keiron Cunningham as well as 29 others who are affiliated with Super League or NRL clubs and four players from new Welsh side Celtic Crusaders. Rowley also commented that this is not a closed list and more players may be considered.

Both Harris and Cunningham have announced their retirements from Great Britain, Harris on May 10th and Cunningham just this weekend. Harris signaled then that he could appear for Wales in the World Cup series but at time of writing, he has still yet to confirm his availability to coach Martin Hall.

Cunningham has also been approached to resurrect his Wales career. Cunningham last appeared for Wales in 2002 against New Zealand at the Millennium Stadium while Harris hasn?t played for the international rugby league side since the 2000 World Cup.

Rowley adds: ?We will be speaking to all the players regarding their availabilities over the next few weeks. This includes Iestyn and Keiron. We want to get the strongest Wales squad out on the field as we?re determined to qualify for the Finals in 2008.?

Players under consideration for selection for Wales:

Gareth Carvell - Hull FC Graham Horne - Hull FC Philip Joseph - Hull Kingston Rovers Mike Hobbs - Gateshead Thunder David Clark - Barrow Raiders Barry Pugh - Barrow Raiders Glenn Godbee - Blackpool Panthers Iestyn Harris - Bradford Bulls Ryan Atkins - Wakefield Bryn Powell - Dewsbury Rams Paul Hicks - Dewsbury Rams Andrew Jarrett - Featherstone Rovers Craig Moss - Featherstone Rovers Byron Smith - Halifax Anthony Blackwood - Halifax Damien Gibson - Halifax Daniel Jones - Halifax Chris Clarke - Huddersfield Giants James Evans - Huddersfield Giants Stuart Jones - Huddersfield Giants Keith Mason - Huddersfield Giants Hefin O'Hare - Borders (RU) Sam Gardner - Keighley Cougars Mark Tookey - Harlequins RL David Mills - Harlequins RL Keiron Cunningham - St Helens Aled James - Celtic Crusaders Gareth Price - Celtic Crusaders Paul Morgan - Celtic Crusaders Gareth Dean - Celtic Crusaders Lee Briers - Warrington Wolves Luke Murfin - Warrington Wolves Nigel Scott - Warrington Wolves Lee Smith - Warrington Wolves Alistair Williams - Warrington Wolves Brent Grose - Warrington Wolves Tim Holmes - Widnes Vikings Gary Hulse - Widnes Vikings Ian Watson - Widnes Vikings Paul Highton - Salford Reds Mark Hughes - Catalans Dragons Mark Lennon - Manly Sea Eagles (Aus) Jordan James - Wigan Warriors Bryn Hargeaves - Wigan Warriors Wayne Goodwin - Wigan Warriors Luke Dyer - Castleford Tigers Danny Ward - Castleford Tigers Brad Davis - Castleford Tigers