Wizard Cup Teams Announced for

The Queensland Wizard Cup Competition for 2006 was finalised this week by the QRL Board of Directors.

QRL Managing Director, Ross Livermore, said that the same 11 clubs that contested the competition this year will be involved next year.

These are:-

Burleigh Bears - Redcliffe Dolphins Central Comets - Souths Logan Magpies Easts Tigers - Toowoomba Clydesdales Ipswich Jets - Tweed Heads Seagulls Norths Devils - Wynnum Seagulls North Qld Young Guns

An application by Mackay Sea Eagles was not accepted due to shortcomings in the funding and player strength areas. It has been recommended to the Mackay Rugby League that it concentrate on strengthening these prior to lodging an application for the 2007 competition.

?The Board is very appreciative of the financial and other support given to the competition by Wizard Home Loans and the ARL/NRL Partnership? Livermore said.

Mr Livermore said that Wizard are very keen to promote the matches each week-end and be involved in activities at the grounds.

ABC-Television is locked in to telecast live a match each Saturday with replays expected to be shown on Fox Sports and ABC Digital.

Thanks to the guys at http://www.qrl.com.au for another great article.