England name squad for upcoming test series

Embed from Getty Images

The England Rugby League test squad has been named for upcoming test matches against France and New Zealand.

The Lions will play four test matches 

Wed 17 Oct v France, Leigh Sports Village
Sat 27 Oct v New Zealand, KCOM Stadium, Hull
Sun 4 Nov v New Zealand, Anfield, Liverpool
Sun 11 Nov v New Zealand, Elland Road, Leeds

The England squad is:

John Bateman (Wigan Warriors, Bradford Dudley Hill)

George Burgess (South Sydney, Dewsbury Moor)

Tom Burgess (South Sydney, Dewsbury Moor)

Daryl Clark (Warrington Wolves, Fryston Warriors)

Jake Connor (Hull FC, Siddal)

Oliver Gildart (Wigan Warriors, Wigan St Patricks)

James Graham (St George Illawarra Dragons, Blackbrook)

Joe Greenwood (Wigan Warriors, Saddleworth Rangers)

Chris Hill (Warrington Wolves, New Springs Lions)

Josh Hodgson (Canberra Raiders, East Hull)

Tom Johnstone (Wakefield Trinity, Stanningley)

Jonny Lomax (St Helens, Orrell St James)

Reece Lyne (Wakefield Trinity, Ideal Isberg)

Tommy Makinson (St Helens, Wigan St Judes)

Jermaine McGillvary (Huddersfield Giants, Deighton Juniors)

Adam Milner (Castleford Tigers, Stanley Rangers)

Richie Myler (Leeds Rhinos)

Sean O'Loughlin (Wigan Warriors, Wigan St Patricks)

Mark Percival (St Helens, Halton Farnworth Hornets)

Stefan Ratchford (Warrington Wolves, Wigan St Patricks)

Luke Thompson (St Helens, Bold Miners)

Sam Tomkins (Wigan Warriors, Wigan St Patricks)

Elliott Whitehead (Canberra Raiders, West Bowling)

George Williams (Wigan Warriors, Wigan St Patricks)


  • Sam Burgess originally selected in squad on October 2, but withdrew on October 5 due to post-season surgery on wrist and shoulder injuries. His replacement was confirmed as Oliver Gildart on October 9.
  • Luke Gale was originally selected in squad on October 2, but withdrew on October 14 due to injury. He was replaced by Richie Myler.