Four Nations

Click here to view Four Nations 2013

The Rugby League Four Nations is an annual rugby league football tournament run in partnership between the Australian Rugby League Commission, Rugby Football League and New Zealand Rugby League representing the top three nations in the sport: Australia, England and New Zealand. A fourth partner, France, accepted an invitation to play in the inaugural tournament. In the 2010 Tournament, Papua New Guinea was represented as they won the 2009 Pacific Cup. In 2011 they were replaced by the 2010 European Cup winners, Wales. The tournament is sponsored by Gillette and therefore officially known as the Gillette Four Nations.

The tournament was first contested in 2009 and replaced the Tri-Nations tournament that previously involved Australia, New Zealand and Great Britain.

The Four Nations is an integrated part of the Rugby League International Federation's 'International Calendar', with the fourth participant for 2010 and 2011 decided by the 2009 Pacific Cup and 2010 European Cups respectively. There was no tournament in 2012 to allow teams to prepare for the 2013 Rugby League World Cup.


  • 1 Format
    • 1.1 Qualification
    • 1.2 The competition
  • 2 History
  • 3 Tournament finals
    • 3.1 Tri Nations (1999-2006)
    • 3.2 Four Nations (2009-)
  • 4 See also
  • 5 References
  • 6 External links



In 2009 a qualifying tournament was held, the Pacific Cup, involving Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Tonga, Fiji and the Cook Islands. The winners, Papua New Guinea, qualified for the 2010 Four Nations. Likewise in 2010, the European Nations Cup decided the fourth participant in the 2011 tournament, Wales.

The competition

The tournament is organised in round-robin format. Each team play the others once, before the top two teams play each other in a tournament final. The top two teams are calculated using a league table. Teams receive:

  • 2 points for a win
  • 1 point for a draw
  • 0 points for a loss

For and against then separates teams on equal points.


2009 logo
2009 logo for the tournament featuring France
2010 logo
2010 logo for the tournament featuring Papua New Guinea
Tournament logos feature elements representing the participants.
See also: 2009 Rugby League Four Nations

The 2009 tournament began on Saturday 24 October, after the National Rugby League Grand Final and the Super League Grand Final. The tournament ran for 4 weeks with a total of 7 matches, the final was played at Elland Road, Leeds, United Kingdom on Saturday 14 November.

Tournament finals

Tri Nations (1999-2006)

See also: Rugby League Tri-Nations
Year Host nation(s) Winner Score Runner-Up Final venue Final crowd
1999  New Zealand

22 – 20
New Zealand
Ericsson Stadium, Auckland 21,204
2004  United Kingdom
44 – 4
Great Britain
Elland Road, Leeds 39,200
2005  United Kingdom
New Zealand
24 – 0
Elland Road, Leeds 26,514
2006  Australia
 New Zealand

16 – 12
Golden point

New Zealand
Sydney Football Stadium, Australia 27,325

Four Nations (2009-)

Year Host nation(s) Fourth nation Winner Score Runner-Up Final venue Final crowd
2009  England
46 – 16
Elland Road, Leeds 31,042
2010  Australia
 New Zealand
 Papua New Guinea
New Zealand
16 – 12
Lang Park, Brisbane 36,299
2011  England
30 – 8
Elland Road, Leeds 34,174
2014  Australia
 New Zealand
 Samoa Westpac Stadium, Wellington

See also

Portal icon Rugby league portal


External links

Competition Teams