Four Nations

Click here to view Four Nations 2015

The Rugby League Four Nations is a biennial rugby league football tournament run in partnership between the Australian Rugby League Commission, Rugby Football League and New Zealand Rugby League representing the top three nations in the sport: Australia, England and New Zealand. The tournament replaced the previous Tri-Nations format by including a fourth nation that qualifies by winning their respective regional competition in a rotation between Europe and the South Pacific. France accepted an invitation to play in the inaugural tournament in 2009. The tournament is sponsored by Gillette and therefore officially known as the Gillette Four Nations. No tournament was contested in 2012 to allow teams to prepare for the 2013 Rugby League World Cup.


  • 1 Format
    • 1.1 Qualification
  • 2 Results
    • 2.1 Tournaments
    • 2.2 Team Results
  • 3 Statistics
    • 3.1 Average Attendances
    • 3.2 Highest Attendances
    • 3.3 Overall Four Nations Tournament Try-Scorers
    • 3.4 Top pointscorers
  • 4 See also
  • 5 References
  • 6 External links


The tournament is organised in round-robin format. Each team play the others once, before the top two teams play each other in a tournament final. The top two teams are calculated using a league table. Teams receive:

  • 2 points for a win
  • 1 point for a draw
  • 0 points for a loss

For and against then separates teams on equal points.


The fourth nation alternates between Europe and the Pacific and to date each tournament has seen a different team take part. Rugby League European Cup decides the qualifier from Europe and the Pacific Rugby League International decides the qualifier from the Pacific.

In 2009 a qualifying tournament was held, the Pacific Cup, involving Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Tonga, Fiji and the Cook Islands. The winners, Papua New Guinea, qualified for the 2010 Four Nations. Likewise in 2010, the European Nations Cup decided the fourth participant in the 2011 tournament, Wales. In 2014, a single game was staged to decide the fourth team for that year with Samoa beating Fiji 32-16. That same year, it was announced that the winner of the 2014 European Cup would qualify for the 2016 Four Nations, the winning team being Scotland who qualified on points difference by just 3 points over France.

Year Competition Qualifier
2009 2005 European Nations Cup  France
2010 2009 Pacific Cup  Papua New Guinea
2011 2010 European Nations Cup  Wales
2014 2014 Pacific Qualifier  Samoa
2016 2014 European Nations Cup  Scotland


To date no fourth nation has appeared in the final of the Four Nations and no team from outside of Oceania has won the tournament despite England appearing in two finals, losing both to Australia. Furthermore, no fourth nation has even won a single game despite Samoa losing their first two games of the 2014 tournament by just one try each.

The largest winning margin in a game was in 2010 when New Zealand beat Papua New Guinea by 76-12, a margin of 64 points. There has only been one draw in the history of the tournament when Australia and New Zealand fought out a 20-20 draw in the 2009 tournament.


Year Host nation(s) Winner Score Runner-Up Fourth Nation
2009  England
 Australia 46 – 16  England  France
2010  Australia
 New Zealand
 New Zealand 16 – 12  Australia  Papua New Guinea
2011  England
 Australia 30 – 8  England  Wales
2014  Australia
 New Zealand
 New Zealand 22 – 18  Australia  Samoa
2016  England

Team Results

Rank Country Appearances Wins Runners-Up
1  Australia 4 2 (2011, 2009) 2 (2010, 2014)
2  New Zealand 4 2 (2010, 2014) 0
3  England 4 0 2 (2011, 2009)
4  France 1 0 0
5  Papua New Guinea 1 0 0
6  Samoa 1 0 0
7  Wales 1 0 0


(as of 18 November 2014)

Average Attendances

Year Host Total attendance Matches Average attendance  % of change
2009 England, France 116,089 7 16,584 N/A
2010 Australia, New Zealand 137,504 7 19,644 +18.45%
2011 England, Wales 128,065 7 18,295 -6.86%
2014 Australia, New Zealand 144,722 7 20,675 +13.00%

Highest Attendances

Rank Game Stadium Attendance Event
1  England v  Samoa
 Australia v  New Zealand
Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane, Australia 47,813 2014
2  Australia v  New Zealand
 England v  Papua New Guinea
Eden Park, Auckland, New Zealand 44,324 2010
3  Wales v  New Zealand
 England v  Australia
Wembley Stadium, London, England 42,344 2011
4  Australia v  New Zealand Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane, Australia 36,299 2010
5  England v  Australia Elland Road, Leeds, England 34,174 2011

Overall Four Nations Tournament Try-Scorers

Tries scored Name
11 Jason Nightingale (New Zealand)
10 Greg Inglis (Australia)
9 Brett Morris (Australia)
8 Billy Slater (Australia), Ryan Hall (England)
7 Cooper Cronk (Australia)
6 Sam Tomkins (England), Sam Perrett (New Zealand), Junior Sa'u (New Zealand)
5 Michael Jennings (Australia), Lance Hohaia (New Zealand)
4 Darius Boyd (Australia), Luke Lewis (Australia), Cameron Smith (Australia), Brent Tate (Australia), Johnathan Thurston (Australia), Sam Burgess (England), Tony Clubb (England), Shaun Kenny-Dowall (New Zealand)
3 Darren Lockyer (Australia), Josh Morris (Australia), Willie Tonga (Australia), Peter Fox (England), Luke Robinson (England), Sika Manu (New Zealand), Manu Vatuvei (New Zealand)
2 Daly Cherry-Evans (Australia), Ben Hunt (Australia), Chris Lawrence (Australia), Tony Williams (Australia), Jharal Yow Yeh (Australia)

Tom Briscoe (England), Chris Heighington (England), Richard Myler (England), Jack Reed (England), Lee Smith (England), Kallum Watkins (England), Gareth Widdop (England)

Gerard Beale (New Zealand), Nathan Fien (New Zealand), Bryson Goodwin (New Zealand), Shaun Johnson (New Zealand), Benji Marshall (New Zealand), Frank-Paul Nuuausala (New Zealand), Frank Pritchard (New Zealand), Jeremy Smith (New Zealand), Jared Waerea-Hargreaves (New Zealand)

Glen Nami (Papua New Guinea), Pita Godinet (Samoa), Daniel Vidot (Samoa), Elliot Kear (Wales)

1 Paul Gallen (Australia), Jarryd Hayne (Australia), David Klemmer (Australia), Josh Mansour (Australia), Sione Mata'utia (Australia), Josh Papalii (Australia), Beau Scott (Australia), Matthew Scott, Sam Thaiday (Australia), Lote Tuqiri (Australia), Akuila Uate (Australia)

Josh Charnley (England), Kyle Eastmond (England), Gareth Ellis (England), Liam Farrell (England), James Roby (England), James Graham (England), Michael Shenton (England), Kevin Sinfield (England), Joel Tomkins (England), Kirk Yeaman (England)

Kane Bentley (France), Vincent Duport (France), Olivier Elima (France), Sébastien Martins (France), James Wynne (France)

Lewis Brown (New Zealand), Greg Eastwood (New Zealand), Kalifa Faifai Loa (New Zealand), Kieran Foran (New Zealand), Issac Luke (New Zealand), Kevin Locke, Simon Mannering (New Zealand), Ben Matulino (New Zealand), Kevin Proctor (New Zealand), Dean Whare (New Zealand)

Macali Aizue (Papua New Guinea), Emmanuel Yere (Papua New Guinea)

David Fa'alogo (Samoa), Joseph Leilua (Samoa), Isaac Liu (Samoa), Tautau Moga (Samoa), Ben Roberts, Tim Simona (Samoa)

Jordan James (Wales), Rhys Williams (Wales)

Top pointscorers

Overall Four Nations Tournament Top Point-Scorers
Player Team T G FG Pts
1 Johnathan Thurston  Australia 4 39 0 94
2 Cameron Smith  Australia 4 26 0 68
3 Benji Marshall  New Zealand 2 25 0 58
4 Jason Nightingale  New Zealand 11 0 0 44
5 Kevin Sinfield  England 1 19 0 42
6 Greg Inglis  Australia 10 0 0 40
7 Brett Morris  Australia 9 0 0 36
8 Bryson Goodwin  New Zealand 2 13 0 34
9 Billy Slater  Australia 8 0 0 32
= Ryan Hall  England 8 0 0 32
11 Cooper Cronk  Australia 7 0 0 28
12 Sam Tomkins  England 6 0 0 24
= Sam Perrett  New Zealand 6 0 0 24
= Junior Sau  New Zealand 6 0 0 24
15 Michael Jennings  Australia 5 0 0 20
= Lance Hohaia  New Zealand 5 0 0 20

See also

Portal icon Rugby league portal
  • Rugby League Tri-Nations
  • Rugby League World Cup


External links

Competition Teams