Fri 3 March 2017
ANZ Stadium - Crowd: 16976

Rabbitohs v Wests Tigers preview - 2017 Round 1

Sydney rivals do battle in ANZ season opener!

Both these sides will be looking to start 2017 better than how 2016 ended for them as they both missed the finals. Souths managed to win only nine games and the Wests Tigers were only marginally better recording 11 victories.

There will also be some spice in this clash with Robbie Farah (Souths) playing against his former counterparts from the Wests Tigers. Get ready for some fireworks!

Last meeting: Round 14 2016 - Wests Tigers 30 Rabbitohs 14

The Tigers have won the past three against Souths, however before that Souths had won 7 of 8 clashes between the sides. Souths need just 26 points to reach 3000 points scored at ANZ Stadium.

Who to watch: With the absence of Adam Reynolds for the short term, Cody Walker needs to stand up and play out of his skin to help get Souths across the line. His direct running style and short kicking game are the features of his play and his combination with new signing Robbie Farah will be vital. Walker has the ability to be one of the better five-eighths that South has developed in recent years and after some of his displays last year there are many Souths fans that want him locked up for life!

For the Tigers, Mitchell Moses will be the focal point of their attack. Lined up opposite Walker, Moses will be using is running game and passing to bring support players into the match. He links up extremely well with James Tedesco and Luke Brooks and that combination could provide fruitful on Friday. Moses is one of the more experienced Tigers players now and the side will be relying on him to put in a stellar effort on Friday.

The favourite: Souths firm favourites in this match and have been firmed as favourites in the betting markets.

My tip: Look for Souths to start the season in style with a comprehensive win. They have attacking weapons at the back with Inglis, Johnston along with Walker and Farah. This will be a high scorer with both teams not afraid to throw the ball around. Souths by 14.

1. Greg Inglis 2. Alex Johnston 3. Hymel Hunt 4. Siosifa Talakai 5. Bryson Goodwin 6. Cody Walker 7. Luke Kelly 8. Zane Musgrove 9. Robbie Farah 10. David Tyrrell 11. John Sutton 12. Kyle Turner 13. Sam Burgess 14. Damien Cook 15. Jason Clark 16. Thomas Burgess 17. Robbie Rochow

1. James Tedesco 2. David Nofoaluma 3. Kevin Naiqama 16. Michael Chee-Kam 21. Moses Suli 6. Mitchell Moses 7. Luke Brooks 8. Aaron Woods 9. Matt McIlwrick 10. Ava Seumanufagai 11. Sauaso Sue 12. Chris Lawrence 13. Elijah Taylor 4. Jamal Idris 14. Tim Grant 15. Josh Aloiai 18. Jack Littlejohn

Referees: Ashley Klein, Chris James; Sideline Officials: Tim Roby, Rohan Best; Video Referees: Ben Galea, Bernard Sutton;