Allan McMahon Shield honoured

The Newcastle Knights and Wests Tigers will honour former international and First Grade coach, Allan McMahon, this Sunday when they play for the inaugural Allan McMahon Shield at Campbelltown Sports Stadium.

McMahon, who played 89 games for the Balmain Tigers during the 1970?s and 80?s, as well as representing Australia and coached the Newcastle Knights for the first four seasons of their existence, passed away in May this year.

Both the Wests Tigers and the Knights agreed at the time, that Allan?s legacy to the game should be remembered.

Speaking today, Michael Hagan, who played and captained the Knights under McMahon?s coaching, said much of the Knights current success could be attributed to their inaugural coach.

?Allan McMahon instilled in this place a set of standards that the club has been able to build success upon,? he said.

?With a tiny budget, he built a team of tough young men, who may not have won many games, but who gave the club a very strong foundation.?

?His passing probably served to highlight just how much we owe the man and I think that the inauguration of the Allan McMahon Shield will go some way to acknowledging that.?

Also speaking today, Wests Tigers coach, Tim Sheens, who both played and coached against McMahon, said it was fitting that this Sunday?s game pay tribute to him. " He was a great competitor for Balmain and went on to be a great coach," " He laid the foundation for the success that Newcastle have experienced," " It's great for both clubs to be involved in this initiative to honour Allan," Sheens said. The Allan McMahon Shield will be played for when the Wests Tigers and Knights clash for the first time of each season.

This Sunday, Allan?s widow, Glenice, will make a presentation of the Shield to the winning captain at the conclusion of the game.

Radisson Maine Wests Tigers Head Coach, Tim Sheens has announced his team for the game against the Newcastle Knights, in the inaugural Allan McMahon Shield on Saturday 27 July 2003 at Campbelltown Stadium. Kick off is at 3pm.

1. Robert Miles 2. Mark O?Halloran 3. John Wilson 4. Dene Halatau 5. Luke Covell 6. Daniel Fitzhenry 7. Lincoln Withers 8. Corey Pearson 9. Darren Senter ? 10. John Skandalis 11. Ben Galea 12. Mark O?Neill 13. Terry Hill Bench: 15. Willie Manu 16. Anthony Laffranchi 17. Steve Trindall 18. Trent Clayton In: Darren Senter Out: Robert Mears