Announcement Of New Zealand 16's

The NZRL New Zealand 16's Selectors have announced the following squad to face the Parramatta U17 Development team and the Penrith U16 team in September.

The 20 player squad has been selected from the Auckland, Canterbury, Northland, Waicoa Bay and Wellington regions and all represented their Districts in this years NZRL Elite programme, the National Junior Competition. The Parramatta U17 Development team, which is coached by former Kiwi, Mark Horo will take on the New Zealand 16's at Davies Park on Saturday 25 September (1.00pm Kick Off). They will then go on to play a Northern Districts side on Monday 27 September at League Park in Ngaruawahia before making their way to play Taranaki on Thursday 30 September, and finally Wellington on Saturday 2 October 2004. One of the top teams in Australia's Harold Matthews competition, the Penrith U16's, who were just pipped in the final against Parramatta, will start off their New Zealand tour by playing Wellington on Saturday 25 September. They will face New Zealand 16's at Davies Park on Wednesday 29 September (3.30pm Kick Off). Their final game will be in Auckland on Saturday 2 October against a very strong Auckland U16 team. This should be a great challenge for the New Zealand 16's, who, for the second year, are coached by another former Kiwi and NZ Warriors player, Terry Hermansson. Even at such a young age it is very evident the talent we have in this country with 3 of the squad already having NRL contracts. Patrick Ah Van, Scott Jones and Iuomalo Su'a are all a part of the NZ Warriors elite programme. In alphabetical order: Player Name - District of Origin Patrick Ah Van - Auckland Vincent Brown - Canterbury David Gideon - Waicoa Bay Tamihana Hawea - Auckland Isaac John - Waicoa Bay Scott Jones - Auckland Michael Lealava'a - Wellington Bronson Marino - Wellington Wesley Naopu-Ualesi - Canterbury Matthew Parata - Auckland Ashley Parker - Wellington Arron Pawley - Auckland Linton Price - Northland Steve Rapira - Waicoa Bay Iuomalo Su'a - Auckland Shalom Suniula - Auckland Tino Va'asa - Auckland Michael Vaotu'ua - Auckland William Wiki - Northland Peter Wiggins - Waicoa Bay Terry Hermansson - Co-coach Brent Gemmell - Co-coach John Solomon - Manager