Auckland Rugby League Finals Wrap

2006 Lion Red Fox Memorial Grand Final

The Mount Albert Lions have capped off a truly remarkable season having claimed the Roope Rooster trophy, the Rukutai Shield as minor premiers and now the title as Fox Memorial Champions. The Lions finished the season with a bang, demolishing the Papakura Sea Eagles 49 points to six in front of a stellar crowd at Mount Smart Stadium number two. It was the power of front rowers TJ Aoese and Tony Tuia that proved the difference between the two sides early on with Aoese rewarded after only eight minutes with a try under the posts. Centre Guenther Schaumkel then proceeded to run riot for the Lions, scoring the first of four tries for the afternoon. The speedy centre timed his chase to perfection to latch onto a bomb from half Jack Noble and score to the left of the uprights. Schaumkel was at it again just minutes later when he pounced on a spilled kick from Papakura fullback Thomas Zwart to score uncontested under the posts. The extras were added and Mount Albert led 16-0 after just 15 minutes. The centre completed his hatrick prior to the break with a 40 meter line break. Papakura were to score their one and only try in the 31st minute. Interchange forward Junior P Aiono scored after receiving a clever inside ball from stand-off Bruce Anderson. Hayden Te Rangi added the extras for the Sea Eagles to make it 22-6. Mt Albert were at it just minutes later, Lions stand-off Simon Ieremia kicking a 40 meter penalty to give the favorites a commanding 24-6 lead going into the split. Not much else went Papakura