Bailey Wins 2005 St George Bank

St George Illawarra Prop Luke Bailey has won the prestigious 2005 St George Bank Medal at a formal presentation at Town Hall, Sydney, tonight.

The 25-year-old Shellharbour junior led the way forward for the Dragons throughout the season along the way earning himself NSW Origin and Australian selection. Bailey captured the highly sort after award and solid gold medal ahead of Dean Young and Trent Barrett.

The Club's highest honour – won previously by Mathew Head (2004), Ben Hornby (2003), Shaun Timmins (2002), Jason Ryles (2001), Trent Barrett (2000) and Jamie Ainscough (1999) – is determined by a mixed criteria including a voting system involving the first grade players and coaching staff, and qualitative factors taken into account by the Club.

For the first time this year the Dragons also teamed with their Major Sponsor St George Bank and the St George "Immortals" John Raper, Reg Gasnier and Graeme Langlands to introduce an "Immortals St George Bank Trophy" Award.

Dean Young was chosen by the three "Immortals" in consultation with the coaching staff as the inaugural winner. The award is based not only on performance, but also on criteria that reflects what the "Immortals" represent such as attitude, commitment and dedication across all aspects of athletic and professional endeavour.

Young, 21, was again honoured twice on the night, winning the 2005 Red V Members Player of the Year, voted by the Dragons membership base.

Versatile play maker Ben Hornby who began the season at fullback and took over as halfback was awarded the 2005 Geoff Selby Memorial NRL Coaches Award, determined by the first grade coaching staff.

Forward Bryan Norrie won the 2005 Mark Coyne Award for Premier League Player of the Year. Norrie, 21, was a strong and consistent performer in his four NRL and 14 Premier League matches throughout the season.

Rising star Tom Haberecht won the Paul McGregor Award for Jersey Flegg Player of the Year in his first year with the senior Dragons. Haberecht, 20, played 19 Jersey Flegg games scoring 14 tries and four Premier League games where he scored one try.

2005 DRAGONS AWARD WINNERS Luke Bailey St George Bank Dragons Medal Dean Young St George Bank Immortals Trophy Ben Hornby Geoff Selby Memorial NRL Coaches Award Dean Young Red V Members Player of the Year Bryan Norrie Mark Coyne Award – Premier League Player of the Year Tom Haberecht Paul McGregor Award – Jersey Flegg Player of the Year