name captain

The BARLA Great Britain Lions Management has announced that Leigh Miners Rangers' Tommy Goulden will captain the side against the full French international side on Saturday 20th September.

Anthony Broadhead of Thornhill Trojans will be Vice Captain and Lions Manager Neil Baxter is confident that he and Coach Mick Turner have appointed the right men for the jobs.

Baxter said, "Tommy has shown his leadership skills as Lancashire County captain and was also Vice Captain on our Victory Cup campaign last May. Although he is still only young, we see it as a natural progression for him to lead his country and are sure he will do a tremendous job."

He added, "Anthony is a player of vast experience and will provide great support to Tommy. He has played for Yorkshire County and the BARLA Under 23's and we feel he is more than capable of fulfilling this prestigious role."

The hosts will be out to gain revenge for a narrow 30-24 defeat in Moscow last May in the inaugural Victory Cup which France went on to win. The visitors will be desperate to produce a good performance as this game is a vital part of their preparation for the forthcoming European Championships.

The French have named an 18 man squad for the Recreation Ground showdown and look set to include experienced back Frederic Banquet in their line up.

BARLA GREAT BRITAIN LIONS v FRANCE Saturday 20th September 2003 The Recreation Ground, Whitehaven Kick Off: 6:30pm Admission: ?4 - ?1 Concessions

The Squads;

BARLA Great Britain Lions:

James Aramayo (East Hull) Anthony Broadhead (Thornhill Trojans) Vice Captain Jon Cole (Woolston Rovers) Gavin Corfield (Wigan St Judes) Phil Crane (Skirlaugh) Paul Davidson (Wath Brow Hornets) Tom Goulden (Leigh Miners Rangers) Captain Nigel Halmshaw (West Bowling) Terry Lynn (West Hull) John McMullen (Wigan St Judes) Darren Mitchell (Thatto Heath) Gary Mowforth (Cottingham Tigers) Eddie Robinson (Ellenborough Rangers) Matt Rogers (Eastmoor Dragons) Carl Rudd (Wath Brow Hornets) Scott Teare (Wath Brow Hornets) Phil Thacker (Skirlaugh) Paul Toole (Blackbrook) Gary Weymes (East Hull) Leigh Wingfield (Leigh East)

Mick Turner (Coach) Mick Swift (Assistant Coach) Trevor Wiseman (Physio) Neil Baxter (Team Manager)


Fourcade Abasse (St Gaudens) Frederic Banquet (Carcassonne) David Berthezene (UTC) Laurent Carrasco (Villeneuve) Florian Chaubet (Pia) Bouatou Coulibaly (St Gaudens) Fabrice Estebanez (Limoux) Djamel Fakir (UTC) David Ferriol (Limoux) Laurent Frayssinous (UTC) Romain Gagliazzo (UTC) Julien Gerin (Toulouse) Rachid Hechiche (Lyon) Jerome Hermet (Villeneuve) Christophe Moly (Carcassonne) Olivier Pramil (Toulouse) Sebastien Raguin (Toulouse) Mickel Van Snick (Villeneuve)

Herve Guiraud (Director) Ivan Greseque (Manager) Gilles Dumas (Coach) Lionel Garrigues (Assistant Coach) Philippe Roques (Doctor) Jean Claude Pignol (Physio)