BARLA Lions name tour squad

BARLA Lions Coach Mick Turner has announced his squad for this summer's busy international schedule.

The Lions are taking part in the Victory Cup in May, and then just a month later will be making the long trip "down under" to take on the Australian Aboriginals in a proposed seven game tour, culminating in a two match test series

After the success of last year's inaugural Victory Cup in Moscow, where BARLA won the Victory Bowl, the Lions will be looking to again return home with some silverware and are desperate to make it through to the Victory Cup Final, at Moscow's Olympic Stadium on May 20th.

The Lions last clashed with the Aboriginals in late 2002, winning 30-6 at Robin Park, Wigan, and then 26-20 at Mount Pleasant, Batley a week later to wrap up a 2-0 test series success. The tourists will be desperate to return home from Australia having re-gained the "Perpetual Trophy".


Players Dave Goddard (Army Rugby League) Paul Toole (Blackbrook) Matthew Rogers (Eastmoor Dragons) Paul Raftery (Eccles & Salford Juniors) Daniel Kilshaw (Leigh East) Lee Wingfield (Leigh East) David Patterson (Leigh Miners Rangers) Tommy Goulden (Leigh Miners Rangers) Daniel Tyrell (Oldham St Annes) Ashley Lindsey (Shaw Cross) Carl Hughes (Stanley Rangers) Darren Mitchell (Thatto Heath) Alex Bretherton (Thornhill) Anthony Broadhead (Thornhill) Carl Rudd (Wath Brow Hornets) Craig Calvert (Wath Brow Hornets) Mark Deans (Wath Brow Hornets) Paul Davidson (Wath Brow Hornets) Scott Teare (Wath Brow Hornets) Chris Lee (West Hull) Gavin Last (West Hull) Terry Lynn (West Hull) Gavin Corfield (Wigan St Judes) John McMullen (Wigan St Judes) Carl Jones (Wigan St Patricks) Paul Egan (Wigan St Patricks)

Management Neil Baxter (Manager) Carl Sanderson (Assistant Manager) Mick Turner (Coach) Chris Middlehurst (Assistant Coach) Trevor Wiseman (Physio) Steve Manning (PRO)

Standby Squad Gary Lewis (Siddal) Lawrence Wildbore (West Hull) Melvin Alker (Wigan St Patricks) Neil Stewart (Wath Brow Hornets) Craig Holmes (Thornhill) Lee Charlesworth (Oldham St Annes) Dean Walker (Hull Dockers) Eddie Robinson (Ellenborough) Jonathan Light (Leigh Miners Rangers) Stephen Lewis (Siddal)