Bears On Show At Showground

The North Sydney take on the Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs on Saturday afternoon at the Sydney Showground, Homebush Bay. The "Wet Weather Bears" are in top form, keeping the opposition scoreless for the last 120 minutes of game time after beating Souths last week 14-0 and keeping the Cougars scoreless in the second half in their 36-14 win the week before (pictured in the wet are Billy Ngawini, Wayne McDade and Tevita Metuisela).

The Bulldogs are also in good form, recording two wins and a draw from their last three matches. However they may be weakened with a number of their top players promoted to the NRL this week. The Bears are only two competition points away from the top eight, and a win on Saturday will put them back on the road to make the finals.

The Bears have been boosted this week with the return of captain Kyle Arnold but have lost second rower Tevita Metuisela who will play for the Storm this weekend. The Melbourne line up includes a number of players who have played with the Bears this year including Ian Donnelly, Jamie Feeney and Tevita Metuisela.

The Premier League match kicks off on Saturday 2nd July at 3.40pm at the Sydney Showground, Homebush Bay with the Jersey Flegg teams kicking off at 2.00pm. The NRL game between the Canterbury Bulldogs and the Melbourne Storm will follow at 5.30pm.

Premier League

1. John Russell 2. Andrew Moodie 3. Richard Retimana 4. Chris Tuatara 5. Lester Salanoa 6. Luke Fatnowna 7. Aaron Heremaia 8. Kyle Arnold (c) 9. Ben Ellis 10. Pat Galea 11. Anthony Kiro 12. Wayne McDade 13. Matt Thurston 14. Michael Harper 15. Rhian Gerard 16. Steven Hales 17. 18. Joseph Swamy

Coach - Gary Freeman

Jersey Flegg

1. Jono Freeman 2. Ryan Wilson 3. Danny Chiha 4. Lee Cameron 5. Michael Mansour 6. Anthony Beare 7. Tim Woodbine 8. Mitch Erickson 9. Pat Allendorf 10. Blake McLean (c) 11. Ryan Verlinden 12. Michael Morris 13. Jessie Mileto 14. Arnold Mano 15. Pio Rokomaqisa 16. Brad Price 17. Oliver Saunders 18. Luke Hemsworth 19. Tyson Muscat 20. Aziz Nanouh 21. Ken Petia 22. Reece Watson 23. Joel Bennet

Coach - Gavin Catanach