Brett Kimmorley crowned Bulldogs player of 2010

2010 Award Winners Announced at Bulldogs Presentation Night

Halfback Brett Kimmorley has signed off on a stellar playing career by taking out the Bulldogs Player of the Year award at the Club's 2010 presentation night held tonight at Doltone House, Jones Bay Wharf.

Kimmorley's win capped a big night of presentations, which included awards for the Clubman of the Year, Rookie of the Year, NSW Cup Player of the Year, Toyota Cup Player of the Year, and the Peter Warren Medal for outstanding service to the community.

The Bulldogs NSW Cup winning side was congratulated on its second Premiership in as many years, while long-serving and departing players were officially acknowledged for their service to the Club.

Being named the Bulldogs Player of the Year for 2010 is a fitting way for Kimmorley to finish his 16-year career in the National Rugby League, which has seen him represent Australia, NSW, win a Premiership and claim a Clive Churchill Medal.

The 34-year old halfback, who played his 307th and final NRL match in the Bulldogs final round win over Manly, will remain a part of the Bulldogs in 2011 when he starts his new role as an assistant coach.

Popular forward Michael Hodgson underlined the positive impact he has had since his arrival at the Bulldogs by being named the Clubman of the Year for 2010.

The Clubman of the Year title carries great prestige, as it covers all aspects of a player's involvement inside the Bulldogs Club throughout the year. Hodgson was awarded the honour in part for the enthusiasm and dedication that he exhibits at all times, from his physical preparation, his on field performances, his community engagements and his work with corporate and media partners.

Bulldogs captain Andrew Ryan was once again recognised for his outstanding contribution in the community, adding the 2010 Peter Warren Medal to the Ken Stephen Medal he claimed last week.

The Peter Warren Medal was named in honour of long-time sponsor and supporter of the Club Peter Warren, and it was presented to Andrew by Dr George Peponis on behalf of the Warren family. The award is in recognition of his countless hours of work for causes as diverse as Camp Quality, the Australian Disability Foundation, beyondblue, Ronald McDonald House, the Children's Hospital at Westmead's Bandaged Bear Cup, the NSW State Government's