Brian Noble names Great Britain

Great Britain coach Brian Noble has announced the Great Britain squad for the Gillette Tri-Nations Tournament to be held later in the year. As expected, Super League Champions Leeds contributed the most players from any club with 10 Rhinos named.

St Helens captain Paul Sculthorpe was appointed Great Britain captain taking over the from the now departed Andy Farrell, with Bradford Bulls forward Jamie Peacock named vice-captain.

Paul Sculthorpe had realized a childhood ambition and respected news site quoted this from the new skipper, "Everybody's aim is to captain their country," he said.

"I've done it at all other levels, from schoolboys and academy.

"It's the highest accolade you can get in rugby league and it's something I've dreamed of ever since I started playing the game."

The 27 year old St Helens lock has won 25 test caps since making his debut in 1996 versus Papua New Guinea and was an obvious choice to take the mantle from Andy Farrell who on June 1 will start a three year contract with the RFU and english club Saracens. This is only the third Great Britain captain since 1996 where it was Andy Farrell who inherited the role from former Wigan great Shaun Edwards.

The 40 man squad announced Tuesday was:

Ryan Bailey (Leeds Rhinos) Kevin Brown (Wigan Warriors) Rob Burrow (Leeds Rhinos) Mark Calderwood (Leeds Rhinos) Brian Carney (Wigan Warriors) Eorl Crabtree (Huddersfield Giants) Keiron Cunningham (St Helens) Matt Diskin (Leeds Rhinos) Gareth Ellis (Leeds Rhinos) Stuart Fielden (Bradford Bulls) Nick Fozzard (St Helens) Ade Gardner (St Helens) Lee Gilmour (St Helens) Martin Gleeson (Warrington Wolves) Iestyn Harris (Bradford Bulls) Mickey Higham (St Helens) David Hodgson (Salford City Reds) Richard Horne (Hull FC) Paul Johnson (Bradford Bulls) Paul King (Hull FC) Jamie Langley (Bradford Bulls) Sean Long (St Helens) Danny McGuire (Leeds Rhinos) Adrian Morley (Sydney Roosters) Terry Newton (Wigan Warriors) Jamie Peacock (Bradford Bulls) (Vice-Captain) Leon Pryce (Bradford Bulls) Kris Radlinski (Wigan Warriors) Gareth Raynor (Hull FC) Stuart Reardon (Bradford Bulls) Keith Senior (Leeds Rhinos) Paul Sculthorpe (St Helens) (Captain) Kevin Sinfield (Leeds Rhinos) Jamie Thackray (Hull FC) Chris Thorman (Huddersfield Giants) Danny Ward (Leeds Rhinos) Chev Walker (Leeds Rhinos)