Broncos name squad to play

The Brisbane Broncos have received a massive boost ahead of this Saturday?s round 10 blockbuster against North Queensland with defensive weapon Tonie Carroll set to return from injury.

Hard-hitting lock Carroll has been named in an 18-man squad to battle the Cowboys at Dairy Farmers Stadium after overcoming the rib problem he suffered in the Anzac Test win over New Zealand on April 22.

Second-rower David Stagg will also play in Townsville after recovering from a sickening head-clash suffered in Sunday?s thrilling 35-28 win over Canterbury while winger Scott Minto (rib) is still no certainty despite being named in the starting side.

Minto is still feeling the effects of a swinging arm from Bulldogs? fullback Luke Patten and will be replaced by Brisbane Easts? standby Darren Smith if he fails to pass a fitness test later in the week.

Utility Smith has been included on a five-man interchange bench alongside utility Casey McGuire and forwards Corey Parker, Neville Costigan and Darren Mapp.

Broncos: Karmichael Hunt, Scott Minto, Justin Hodges, Shaun Berrigan, Leon Bott, Darren Lockyer (c), Brett Seymour, Shane Webcke, Barry Berrigan, Petero Civoniceva, David Stagg, Brad Thorn, Tonie Carroll. Interchange: Corey Parker, Casey McGuire, Neville Costigan, Darren Mapp, Darren Smith (one to be omitted)