Broncos name team to face Storm

Brisbane has recalled a host of stars for this weekend?s qualifying final at Suncorp Stadium against the Melbourne Storm.

Winger Scott Minto, centre Shaun Berrigan, five-eighth Darren Lockyer and lock forward Tonie Carroll have all been drafted into the squad.

All four have come straight into the starting squad, with coach Wayne Bennett naming a seven-man bench. In-form prop Carl Webb is the only player to be omitted, with CT scans on Monday showing the North Queensland-bound youngster had a fractured eye socket.

Webb suffered the injury in a head clash with Panthers skipper Craig Gower in the opening minute of last Friday night?s clash and preliminary x-rays cleared him of serious damage. However, further scans of Webb's face and sinuses revealed a blow-out fracture of the left orbit which will keep him out for the next three weeks meaning the Dalby product may well have played his last game for the club.

?Losing Carl is a big blow because he has been in great form since coming back into A grade,? said captain Gorden Tallis.

?But we have got back a lot of other great players so hopefully we?ll be able to cover that.?

After a scratchy return from a calf injury against Penrith, champion front-rower Shane Webcke said the time for excuses was over.

The veteran prop said Brisbane had to improve its attitude and intensity if it hoped to get anywhere in this season?s play-offs.

"There's no panic stations yet, but you'd think we'd need to be a bit concerned," Webcke said regarding the Broncos recent leaky defensive record.

"We need to improve our attitude and start playing like we want to win a final, because the way we've been going we won't.

"Flashy football won't win you finals. It all starts with defence and the little unseen things that don't get talked about in the papers that win you these games. We can score points. We scored 20 against Penrith and we were deadset flat."

Second Qualifying Final V: Melbourne VENUE: Suncorp Stadium DATE: Saturday, September 11, 2004 TIME: 6.30 pm COACH: Wayne Bennett

TEAM: 1: Karmichael Hunt 2: Scott Minto 3: Brent Tate 4: Shaun Berrigan 5: Stuart Kelly 6: Darren Lockyer 7: Casey McGuire 8: Shane Webcke 9: Neville Costigan 10: Petero Civoniceva 11: Gorden Tallis (c) 12: Dane Carlaw 13: Tonie Carroll INTERCHANGE: 14: Corey Parker 15: Tom Learoyd 16: Darren Mapp 17: Ben Ikin 18: Paul Green 19: Brad Meyers 20: Nick Parfitt (three to be omitted)