Broncos name team to face the

South Sydney received a dose of good news from Brisbane today after Broncos? International Tonie Carroll was ruled out of this weekend?s NRL clash.

The bad news however for the struggling 14th placed Rabbitohs is the Broncos? quintet of Maroons? stars are set to confront them at Suncorp Stadium on Saturday despite their participation in this week?s origin series opener in Brisbane.

Five-eighth Darren Lockyer, centre Shaun Berrigan, utility Casey McGuire and forwards? Petero Civoniceva and Brad Thorn will all play two games in four days if they manage to dodge injury against NSW tomorrow night.

Kangaroo lock Carroll though has failed to overcome it with the calf muscle strain that removed him from Origin one on Sunday causing a reshuffle of the Broncos? forward pack.

Hard-hitting utility forward Neville Costigan will get his first Broncos? run-on start this season in the no. 11 jersey following six interchange appearances while second-rower David Stagg has been shifted to lock and will play after beating the shoulder problem he suffered in the club?s round 10 win over North Queensland.

Costigan?s inclusion opens the door for Dane Carlaw to impress Wayne Bennett for the first time in first-grade since the Broncos coach dropped him to the Queensland Wizard Cup following the round five win over Parramatta.

Carlaw has been named on a six man bench along with McGuire, forwards? Corey Parker, Darren Mapp and Sam Thaiday and former Test centre Brent Tate.

If Wednesday?s origin showdown forces Shaun Berrigan out of the Broncos line-up then Tate could return to the NRL just five weeks after suffering a potential career ending shoulder injury in the 16-12 win over Cronulla in round seven.

Brisbane Broncos vs South Sydney Rabbitohs Saturday, May 28, Suncorp Stadium Kick-off: 5:30pm

Brisbane Broncos: Karmichael Hunt; Scott Minto, Justin Hodges, Shaun Berrigan, Leon Bott; Darren Lockyer (c), Brett Seymour; David Stagg, Brad Thorn, Neville Costigan; Petero Civoniceva, Barry Berrigan, Shane Webcke. Interchange: Corey Parker, Casey Mcguire, Dane Carlaw, Darren Mapp, Sam Thaiday, Brent Tate (two to be ommitted).