Broncos name team to face the

The Broncos impressive winning streak of eight consecutive wins is sure to come under fire this weekend in Canberra after the club was forced to relinquish eight players to State of Origin II and injury yesterday.

Captain five-eighth Darren Lockyer, centre Shaun Berrigan, prop Petero Civoniceva, utility Casey McGuire and second-rowers Brad Thorn and Dane Carlaw will not play against the seventh-placed Raiders on Saturday night after gaining Queensland Origin selection.

While International lock Tonie Carroll (calf) and winger Scott Minto (knee) will also miss the round 14 match with the Broncos team now containing seven new faces from that which beat Newcastle on Sunday.

Toowoomba Clydsdales? Steve Michaels will be the only NRL-debutant in which the Queensland under-19 winger will replace Minto and is expected to play inside Justin Hodges on the right wing.

Easts? Brisbane utility Darren Smith will also move up from the Queensland Wizard Cup in the place of Carroll to return to the Broncos since his short stint from round seven to nine.

The Origin sextet will be replaced by Clydesdales? regulars of Stuart Kelly, Sam Thaiday, Berrick Barnes and Tom Learoyd-Lahrs while Darren Mapp is back in the side after losing out to Carlaw last weekend.

Brent Tate will slot into the centres, Kelly into five-eighth while Thaiday, Barnes, Learoyd-Lahrs and Mapp make up the four-man interchange bench.

The new look substitutions means Neville Costigan and Corey Parker will move into the starting side following their role on the Broncos bench on Sunday.

Parker will join former Test performer Shane Webcke in the front-row while hard-hitting Costigan will partner David Stagg in the second row.

Canberra Raiders vs Brisbane Broncos Saturday, June 11, Canberra Stadium Kickoff: 5.30pm

Broncos: Karmichael Hunt; Steve Michaels, Justin Hodges, Brent Tate, Leon Bott; Stuart Kelly, Brett Seymour; Darren Smith, Neville Costigan, David Stagg; Corey Parker, Barry Berrigan, Shane Webcke. Interchange: Darren Mapp, Berrick Barnes, Sam Thaiday, Tom Learoyd-Lahrs. Coach: Wayne Bennett