Brynteg Comprehensive School get to
the Millennium Stadium

Brynteg Comprehensive School's year 7 rugby league side will be walking onto the Millennium Stadium on August 27 after beating holders Wade Deacon of Widnes in the semi-finals of the Powergen Champion Schools Cup at the Brewery Field on May 24. They will follow in the footsteps of Whitchurch High who competed in this final last year. The Bridgend school side has benefited from professional coaching as Gillette's Welsh schools sponsorship in association with Sportsmatch Cymru has paid for Bridgend Blue Bulls' star Kevin Ellis to train the youngsters. Ellis never played at the Millennium Stadium in his career but is pleased to be going there as a coach. "The whole team is really looking forward to playing there." said Ellis. "They played out their skins on Tuesday and thoroughly deserved the victory. they are a great bunch of lads and a pleasure to coach. They're so enthusiastic and they enjoy playing league far more than union because they get a far better run of the ball and get more experience in tackling skills. "I'm also pleased at how well the Rugby Football League are treating schools. As a reward for reaching the final, the school will be given new kit, tracksuits, balls and tackling shields free of charge." In the semi-final, Wade Deacon were the first team to settle with a series of back to back sets in the Brynteg danger area, a try to Chris Atkin after 15 minutes giving them the lead. They continued to enjoy plenty of pressure until a break from 20 metres out gave Brynteg some daylight when Huw Robinson crossed to make the score 4-4 at half time.

Brynteg started the second half in a much more adventurous style with twin brothers Ben and Rhys Evans causing Wade Deacon huge problems. Two tries to Ben and one further 50 metre try to Rhys completed the scoring for the young Bridgend lads.

Wade Deacon scored a further try from Ryan Thelfall, but it was too late in the day and Brynteg now face Castleford High in the curtain raiser to the Powergen Challenge Cup Final for the Stephen Mullany Memorial trophy and right to be called the Year 7 Powergen Champion School 2005.