Campbell named captain of Dreamtime side

Gold Coast Titans' fullback Preston Campbell will captain the Indigenous Dreamtime team against New Zealand Maori.

The two sides will meet as part of the Rugby League World Cup's opening ceremony, and as a curtain raiser to the Australia v New Zealand match on October 26 at the Sydney Football Stadium.

Campbell, who will play halfback for the Dreamtime team, rated his appointment as equal to his highest achievements and something to "cherish for the rest of my life."

The selectors of the Dreamtime Team were Arthur Beetson, Larry Corowa and Ricky Walford. The coach will be Dally M coach of the year Neil Henry.

North Queensland Cowboys' forward Carl Webb was named as vice-captain.

Penrith Panthers fullback Rhys Wesser was also named along with South Sydney Rabbitohs' Chris Sandow, Brisbane Broncos' Sam Thaiday and Wests Tigers' Daine Laurie. Ipswich's Queensland Cup grand finalist Ian Lacey was also called up.

Widnes halfback Denis Moran was selected as 18th man after being named man of the series at the recent Aboriginal Knockout, endorsed by the Australian Rugby League.

Indigenous Dreamtime Team:

Rhys Wesser, Ty Williams, Beau Champion, Jamal Idris, Justin Carney, Maurice Blair, Preston Campbell (c), Carl Webb (vc), Ian Lacey, George Rose, Daine Laurie, Sam Thaiday, Joel Thompson, Dean Widders, Chris Sandow, Yileen Gordon, Peter Jensen, Denis Moran