Crusaders pick up awards at RFL ceremony

Celtic Crusaders' stand-off Damien Quinn has picked up the Co-operative National League One Player of the Year Award.

This award was presented at a glittering event at Elland Road Stadium in Leeds.

He follows in the footsteps of teammates Jace Van Dijk and Tony Duggan who were National League Two's Player of the Year in 2006 and 2007 respectively.

Fellow Crusaders stars Tony Duggan, Mark Dalle Cort, Darren Mapp and Neale Wyatt joined Quinn in the National League One Team of the Year.

It is the second year in a row that Quinn, Duggan, Dalle Cort and Wyatt have made the Team of the Year selection, all being in the NL2 star line-up in 2007.

Crusaders Colts coach Dan Clements picked up the Conference National Coach of the Year award but first team coach John Dixon missed out on the big prize in National League One with Salford City Reds' Shaun McRae scooping the prize.

The Co-operative National League One team of the year 1. Tony Duggan (Celtic Crusaders) 2. Dean Gaskell (Widnes Vikings) 3. Mark Dalle Cort (Celtic Crusaders) 4. John Wilshere (Salford City Reds) 5. Paul White (Salford City Reds) 6. Damien Quinn (Celtic Crusaders) 7. Richard Myler (Salford City Reds) 8. Craig Stapleton (Salford City Reds) 9. Sean Penkywicz (Halifax) 10. Phillip Leuluai (Salford City Reds) 11. Lee Doran (Leigh Centurions) 12. Darren Mapp (Celtic Crusaders) 13. Neale Wyatt (Celtic Crusaders)