Dolphin Oval News

The Dolphins now in their second full week back at training after the Christmas break. Coach Anthony Griffin and trainer Tony Guilfoyle have been putting the players through some tough sessions culminating in a tough cross country run at veteran prop Troy Lindsay?s property in the Caboolture hinterland. Both Griffin and Guilfoyle are happy with the work the players are putting in and can see marked improvement in some.Griffin nominated the senior players for special mention for their effort and leadership they have shown the younger players.

The Dolphins have lost a few of their new signings already with Daniel Irvine returning to Sydney, Matt Morice to Tully whilst the returning Jamie Grant and Caleb McEniery have returned home to the Sunshine Coast. While one door closes another opens giving an opportunity to someone else in the squad to which there is no shortage of willing players ready to put their hands up for the position. While those players have departed a few more new faces have arrived at Dolphin Oval including a very valuable addition to the coaching staff. Former Crushers, Logan and Brothers-Valleys coach Garry O?Brien has come onboard and already is proving to be a valuable asset.

While O?Brien has joined the off field staff there has been a number of new players also joining the club. Matt Gruszka joins the club from the Parramatta Eels,Mark Christenson returns to Dolphin Oval after spending three years with St.George-Illawarra and one with South Sydney,coming across from New Zealand is former Junior Kiwi Chris Fox among them. Also returning to the club after a year away from football is Matt Dawson who was one of the stars of the colts 2003 premiership win. Gains Nathan Herbener(Roma),Greg Bourke(Wynnum),Nick Emmett(Souths-Logan),Shannon Fish,Gerard Parle, Ryan Cullen(All Comets),Matt Mapes(Nambour), Clint Frazer(Norths),Chris Fox(Wellington),Matt Gruszka(Parramatta),Mark Christenson(Souths Sydney),Luke Bloomfield(Mackay),Luke Tonion (Mackay),Chris Giumelli(Mackay), Losses Brian Jellick(France),Ben Jones(Canberra),Gavin Cooper(Cowboys),Charles Vis(Cowboys),Justin McKay (France),Andrew Wynyard(Retired),Nathan Sologinkin(Retired),Joel Barnes(Gateshead),Joe Burley (Gateshead),Trent Leis(Burleigh),Chris Torrington (Parramatta),Bede Tuohy(Newtown),Daley White (Mackay),Cody Norton (Mackay).