Dolphins Host Under 17 State

THEY?VE witnessed their idols perform the job with distinction. Now Queensland?s best Under 17 talent will go head-to-head for the honour of pulling on the mighty Maroon.

Dolphin Oval at Redcliffe will be the venue for the final selection trial for Queensland Under 17s, with Southern Conference to meet Northern Conference at noon Sunday.

The fixture will be played prior to the Redcliffe v Toowoomba blockbuster in the Queensland Wizard Cup.

Those who do enough to impress selectors will be chosen to play against New South Wales Under 17 on June 15 at Telstra Stadium, a curtain-raiser to State of Origin II.

Already Queensland has enjoyed great success in the interstate arena, beating New South Wales 24-20 in Origin I and 42-12 in Under 19s.

From the Under 17 Conference squads initially announced, please note there have been changes to both sides due to injury.

Dean Frankcom has been replaced by Simona Vavega in the Southern team, while Northerners Brent Kuskey and Jarvan White have been replaced by Allan Heldsinger and Chris Reid.

Teams and coaches for Southern Conference v Northen Conference Under 17s, Dolphin Oval, 12pm, May 29: Southern Conference 1. Marty Paulsen Burleigh 2. Esikeli Tonga Wynnum 3. Junior Seumanutafa Logan Brothers 4. Daniel Isaac Norths 5. Luke Samoa Norths 6. Joel Moon Wests 7. Jacob Fauid Norths 8.Isaac Schwenke Norths 9. Nathan Strudwick Easts Springwood 10. John Clayton Hills Districts 11. Jay Ashton Norths 12. Nathan Becket Wynnum 13. Matthew Handcock Redcliffe Interchange 14. Anthony McGill Burleigh 15. Matthew Host Burleigh 16. Simona Vavega Wests 17. Josh Costello Norths Coach Chris Fullarton

Northern Conference 1. Allan Heldsinger Mackay Souths 2. Shaun Austin Mackay Souths 3.Steve Beaumont Townsville Centrals 4. Scott Millar Nambour 5. Jamie Hull Yeppoon 6. Josh Hoffman Mackay Souths 7. Brady Payne Townsville Centrals 8. Dave Taylor Fitzroys 9. Chris Reid Burdekin 10. Alex Sainsbury Rockhampton All Blacks 11. Scott Idec Mackay Souths 12. Jereny Halls Rockhampton Brothers 13. Luke Baker Sarina Interchange 14. Logan Sullivan Fitzroys 15. Chris Riesen Atherton 16. Sam McPhail Yeppoon 17. Cameron Heading Charters Towers Coach Kelly Egan