engage Super League Grand Final Review

St Helens 16 Tries: Graham, Gidley, Gardner Goals: Long 2

Leeds Rhinos 24 Tries: Smith, Hall, McGuire 2 Goals: Sinfield 4

Att: 68,810

Leeds Rhinos won back-to-back engage Super League titles by defeating St Helens at a rain swept Old Trafford.

Come into this game, Saints were overwhelming favourites as they had not lost a game since April and got off to the perfect start when James Graham finished off a following move.

Underdogs Leeds hit back in style with a Lee Smith try thanks to a good pass from Jamie Jones-Buchanan. Just before the break Ryan Hall -who was only playing because Kiwi Full-back Brent Webb was ruled out due to a back injury-kicked through to score as the Rhinos went into the interval with a 12-6 lead.

Matt Gidley drew Saints level just after the break but again the Headingley outfit responded with a Danny McGuire try, after a deft kick from Skipper Kevin Sinfield. Ade Gardner squeezed into the corner as St Helens cut the gap to 18-16.

St Helens threw everything at Leeds but their scrambling defence held out and McGuire pounced on a Francis Meli mistake to clinch a memorable win.

Lee Smith walked off with the Harry Sunderland Trophy as the Rhinos made history as only the second team after St Helens to defend the Super League Crown.

Leeds will now look forward in taking on NRL premiers Manly Sea Eagles next year for the World Club Challenge.

St Helens: Wellens, Gardner, Gidley, Talau, Meli, Pryce, Long, Graham, Cunningham, Hargreaves, Gilmour, Wilkin, Flannery, Roby, Clough, Fa'asavalu, Fozzard

Leeds Rhinos: Smith, Hall, Ablett, Senior, Donald, McGuire, Burrow, Leuluai, Diskin, Peacock, Jones-Buchanan, Ellis, Sinfield, Lauitiiti, Bailey, Scrutton, Kirke

Referee: Ashley Klein