English Amateur Rugby League

Coaches Gary Charlton and Martin Oglanby have named a 22-man squad for Cumbria?s opening game of the 2004/5 BARLA County Championship on Sunday.

Cumbria host reigning champions Lancashire at Millom, with a 2.30pm kick off, and Oglanby and Charlton have settled on the following squad:

Ryan Wood (Askam), Matthew Jefferson and Liam Harrison (Barrow Island), Darren Block, James Watson, Paul Telford, David Hartley, Steven Long (Egremont), David Whitworth, Kevin Clark (Ellenborough), Paul Cullnean, Ryan Robb, David Agnew, David Dickinson, Dexter Miller (Kells), Andrew Cartwright, Darren Branthwaite (Maryport), Richard Gorge, Steven Hodgson (Seaton), Liam Finch, James Butler (Walney Central), Ryan Blair (Westfield).

Victory for the Cumbrians will end interest in the competition for Lancashire, who lost 18-14 to Yorkshire earlier this month, and result in a `winner-takes-all clash between Yorkshire and Cumbria at West Hull on Sunday April 3.

An away win, however, could result in the title being settled on point?s difference in a three-way split between each of the counties.

The Lancashire side, announced earlier today, is: Matt Cunliffe (Haydock); Craig Lyon (Blackbrook), Dave Critchley (Eccles & Salford Juniors), Lee Wingfield (Leigh East), Shaun Daley (Leigh Miners Rangers); Shaun Spowart (Wigan St Judes), Danny Kilshaw (Leigh East); Dean Balmer (Leigh Miners Rangers), Eric Johnson (Oldham St Annes), Andy Eatock (Ince Rose Bridge), Dave Patterson (Leigh Miners Rangers), Simon Warhurst (Leigh Miners Rangers), Mel Alker (Wigan St Patricks - captain). Substitutes from: Ian Thompson (Wigan St Judes), Craig Walsh (Wigan St Judes), Andy Rasburn (Wigan St Patricks), Andy Sands (Oldham St Annes), Andy Atherton (Wigan St Patricks).