European WC
Qualifying matches

The European Qualifying stages for the Rugby League World Cup will begin in October and November this year, and continue in October 2007.

Wales, Ireland, Scotland, Lebanon, Georgia and Russia will be competing in a home and away series within two groups. The highest ranked team in each group will then qualify for the World Cup Finals to be held in late 2008.

The second placed team in each group will also have the chance to take a place in the World Cup finals through a repocharge round to be held in November 2007.

The fixtures have been announced by the RLEF as follows.

October 21st/22nd
Qualifier 2 v Lebanon

October 21st/22nd
Scotland v Qualifier 1

October 28th /29th
Lebanon v Ireland

October 28th /29th
Wales v Scotland

November 4th/5th
Ireland v Qualifier 2

November 4th/5th
Qualifier 1 v Wales

Please note that venues are to be confirmed, and that Georgia and Russia have qualified for this stage by finishing as the top two teams from the recent European Preliminary WC Qualification Group.

The 2nd ranked teams from the two European qualifying groups will play off as part of the Repecharge Round in November 2007. The winner will then play the winner of the 3rd ranked Pacific qualifying team and highest placed Atlantic team to become one of the ten teams to compete in the World Cup finals.

Details of qualifications and other World Cup news can be found at, or via the 'World Cup 2008' link in the sidebar near the top left of the screen.