The Queensland Rugby League today announced the eleven competing teams for the 2008 Queensland Wizard Cup season.

In an exciting time for rugby league in Queensland, the QRL Board today confirmed the participation of Wizard Cup newcomers the Mackay Cutters and Northern Pride (Cairns).

The two North Queensland teams effectively replace the Aspley Broncos and the North Queensland Young Guns.

The Aspley Broncos and NQ Young Guns did not re-apply for entry into the Wizard Cup, largely due to the changing rugby league landscape following the introduction of a National Under 20 competition.

QRL Managing Director Ross Livermore said the Board was satisfied the clubs had met the criteria following a review of their player strength and finances.

The Wizard Cup season kicks off with a grand final re-match between title holders Tweed Heads and Redcliffe at Cudgen on March 15.

On the same day, the first installment of what promises to be a fierce northern rivalry begins when the Northern Pride tackles the Mackay Cutters at Cairns