Five current Broncos in all-time Brisbane team

Five current players including skipper Darren Lockyer have been named in the Brisbane Broncos' all-time greatest team at their 20-year lunch yesterday.

Besides Lockyer, current Broncos Petero Civoniceva, Shaun Berrigan, Brad Thorn and Tonie Carroll were named in the 20-strong team at a gala function in Brisbane. Five of the Broncos' six captains were present.

Wally Lewis did not attend as he is still recovering from brain surgery. Among the big names who failed to make the 20-strong team were Willie Carne, Lote Tuqiri and Trevor Gillmeister. A 13-strong People's Choice greatest Broncos team was also unveiled today.

Lockyer was named at fullback with Lewis at pivot, ensuring 271-game premiership winning half Kevin Walters missed out. Disgraced winger Wendell Sailor - currently suspended from rugby for drug use - made both teams.

Greatest ever Broncos team: Wally Lewis, Gene Miles, Terry Matterson, Chris Johns, Glenn Lazarus, Steve Renouf, Mick Hancock, Kerrod Walters, Kevin Walters, Wendell Sailor, Allan Langer, Andrew Gee, Gorden Tallis, Mick De Vere, Shane Webcke, Shaun Berrigan, Tonie Carroll, Petero Civoniceva, Darren Lockyer, Brad Thorn.

People's choice greatest Broncos team: Darren Lockyer, Michael Hancock, Gene Miles, Steve Renouf, Wendell Sailor, Wally Lewis, Allan Langer, Shane Webcke, Kerrod Walters, Glenn Lazarus, Gorden Tallis, Trevor Gillmeister, Tonie Carroll.