Four newcomers into the Kangaroo
team against the Kiwis

Four Australian players are set to make their debuts for their country in the opening Tri Nations rugby league Test against New Zealand in Auckland on Saturday.

Coach Wayne Bennett has named a Kangaroos team for the match which included uncapped players in Bulldogs centre Willie Tonga and backrower Andrew Ryan, Penrith winger Luke Rooney and Brisbane lock Tonie Carroll.

However Tonga is battling a calf muscle injury and will be monitored during the week with St George Illawarra's Matt Cooper on standby to replace him.

Roosters backrower Craig Fitzgibbon was not considered from the Australian squad because of a shoulder injury.

Carroll is set to play against the country he represented at the last World Cup in 2001.

Anthony Minichiello, Luke Rooney, Shaun Berrigan, Willie Tonga, Matt Sing, Darren Lockyer (capt), Craig Gower, Shane Webcke, Danny Buderus, Jason Ryles, Willie Mason, Nathan Hindmarsh, Tonie Carroll. Interchange: Craig Wing, Petero Civoniceva, Ben Kennedy, Andrew Ryan.

18th man: Shaun Timmins.