Four Welsh lads in GB squad

Dan Falvey and Oliver Hughes from Cardiff Demons and Daniel Phillips and Lee Williams from Aberavon Fighting Irish have all been named in the Great Britain Amateur under 18 squad for their Autumn International series.

It will be the quartet?s second appearance in the Great Britain squad. All four players toured France with Britain last Easter and have since all starred in their club?s first teams in the 2006 Welsh Rugby League Conference Premier season.

The Great Britain squad held their final training session at the weekend as they prepare to face two Australian touring sides during a testing five-day period.

First, at Stanningley RLFC this Wednesday, November 16th, they provide the opposition in the opening game of the Penrith Panthers' under-18s tour. The Panthers are no strangers to these shores, having last toured Great Britain in 2003 and this encounter is sure to be keenly contested.

Next Monday, November 21st Great Britain will be battling it out with the Australian Institute of Sport (AIS) at Spotland Stadium, Rochdale, for the A-Line Trophy. It will be the first game of the tourists - coached by former Warrington coach Brian Johnson - three-game trip.

Former Aberavon coach, Chris O?Callaghan, now with Celtic Crusaders, is pleased with the quartet?s inclusion.

Callaghan said: ?I?ve seen these lads grow as players over the last couple of years and it?s a credit to them that they are in the squad. The lads are the only players from outside rugby league?s traditional heartlands to be selected and that?s just another example of the amazing growth of Welsh Rugby League.?

Great Britain Amateur U18s Squad: Tony Baker (Ince Rose Bridge, Wigan); Chris Caville (West Hull); Dan Falvey (Cardiff Demons); Lee Forsyth (Oldham St Annes); Sean Foster (Wigan St Cuthberts); Chris Hepworth (Waterhead, Oldham); Oliver Hughes (Cardiff Demons); Ashley Johannessen (Skirlaugh); Lewis Lilley (West Hull); Scott McAvoy (Hensingham, Whitehaven); Daniel Phillips (Aberavon Fighting Irish); Martin Ridyard (Leigh Miners Rangers); Andy Robinson (Wibsey Juniors, Bradford); Steve Shaw (Shaw Cross Sharks, Dewsbury); Lewis Walker (Barrow Island); Brett Waller (Embassy, Hull); Liam Watling (Heworth, York); Linford Weatherby (Leigh Miners Rangers); Lee Williams (Aberavon Fighting Irish)

Penrith Panthers U18s: Shane Blackett; Joshua Drollet; Tim Grant; Guy Hodgins; Masada Iosefa; Michael Jennings; Michael Leeds; Brad McMillan; Joseph Paulo; Victor Penitani; Nathan Pill; Tom Pritchard; David Rota; Jarrod Sammut; Kyle Schuster; Jarad Searson; Brett Smith; Junior Rili Kilifi; Matthew Wade; Shanan Wood

Australian Institute of Sport: Jay Aston; Mitchell Aubusson; Steven Beaumont; Nathan Beckett; Andrew Bell; Nicholas Colley; Dean Frankcom; Daniel Greaves; Mitchell Griffiths; Daniel Isaac; Robert Jones; Martin Lewis; Patrick McPherson; Joel Moon; Patrick Norton; Zachary Paczkowski; Brady Payne; Matthew Smith; Nathan Strudwick; Alexander Switzer; David Taylor; Zac Russ; Simona Vavega; Harrison Bernard Robert