Goulden to lead Lions

BARLA Lions Manager Neil Baxter has announced that Tommy Goulden will lead the Lions on their busy summer schedule, with experienced Wath Brow forward Paul Davidson as vice-captain

Goulden was recently voted man of the match in Leigh Miners Rangers narrow 14-12 Powergen Challenge Cup defeat against professional side Sheffield Eagles, and Baxter is sure that he is the right man for the job.

Baxter said, "Tommy has proved that he is more than capable of doing the job and was captain of the team that beat the full French international side last autumn. He has all the right attributes and more importantly he has the respect of the players."

He added, "Paul deserves the honour of being vice-captain. He has been outstanding for the Lions and is a forward with vast experience."

The Lions are taking part in the Victory Cup in May, and then just a month later will be making the long trip "down under" to take on the Australian Aboriginals in a proposed seven game tour, culminating in a two match test series


Players Dave Goddard (Army Rugby League) Paul Toole (Blackbrook) Matthew Rogers (Eastmoor Dragons) Paul Raftery (Eccles & Salford Juniors) Daniel Kilshaw (Leigh East) Lee Wingfield (Leigh East) David Patterson (Leigh Miners Rangers) Tommy Goulden (Leigh Miners Rangers) Daniel Tyrell (Oldham St Annes) Ashley Lindsey (Shaw Cross) Carl Hughes (Stanley Rangers) Darren Mitchell (Thatto Heath) Alex Bretherton (Thornhill) Anthony Broadhead (Thornhill) Carl Rudd (Wath Brow Hornets) Craig Calvert (Wath Brow Hornets) Mark Deans (Wath Brow Hornets) Paul Davidson (Wath Brow Hornets) Scott Teare (Wath Brow Hornets) Chris Lee (West Hull) Gavin Last (West Hull) Terry Lynn (West Hull) Gavin Corfield (Wigan St Judes) John McMullen (Wigan St Judes) Carl Jones (Wigan St Patricks) Paul Egan (Wigan St Patricks)

Management Neil Baxter (Manager) Carl Sanderson (Assistant Manager) Mick Turner (Coach) Chris Middlehurst (Assistant Coach) Trevor Wiseman (Physio) Steve Manning (PRO)

Standby Squad Gary Lewis (Siddal) Lawrence Wildbore (West Hull) Melvin Alker (Wigan St Patricks) Neil Stewart (Wath Brow Hornets) Craig Holmes (Thornhill) Lee Charlesworth (Oldham St Annes) Dean Walker (Hull Dockers) Eddie Robinson (Ellenborough) Jonathan Light (Leigh Miners Rangers) Stephen Lewis (Siddal)