Illawarra names its Team of the Century

St George Illawarra Dragons second-rower Ben Creagh has been named in the Illawarra Team of the Century announced on Wednesday.

Over 800 people were in attendance tonight at the Gala Dinner at Wollongong's WIN Entertainment Centre to celebrate the Centenary of Illawarra Rugby League.

The first competition commenced in 1911 and who would have envisaged that 100 years later, the Illawarra region would be proud joint holders of the NRL Premiership and the World Club Challenge Trophy.

One of the highlights of the evening was the naming of the Illawarra Team of the Century.  After releasing an initial list of 30 players per position, the list was reduced to 10 in recent weeks and culminated with four nominees per position at the Dinner.

The final four nominees per position were:

Keith    Barnes
John    Dorahy
Garry    Jack
Graeme    Langlands
Peter    Dimond
Charlie    Hazelton
Ian    Moir
Rod    Wishart
Bob    Bartlett
Paul    McGregor
Shaun    Timmins
Harry    Wells (jnr)

Tom    Ezart
Bob    Fulton
Graeme    Lye
Tony    Trudgett
Trent    Barrett
Noel    Hill
Steve    Morris
John    Simon
Allan    Fitzgibbon
George    Jardine
Noel    Mulligan
Ian    Russell
Ron    Costello
Ben    Creagh
Craig     Fitzgibbon
Neil    Piccinelli
Bruce    Olive
Steve    Roach
Chris    Walsh
Craig     Young
Michael    Bolt
Frank    Johnson
Dean    Schifilliti
Kevin    Schubert

The nominees for Coach were:

Allan    Fitzgibbon
Brett    Jones
Noel    Mulligan
Harry    Nolan
The Illawarra Referees Association were asked to select a Referee of the Century. 

The Illawarra Team of the Century announced at the event including Coach and Referee is:

Fullback    Graeme Langlands    Wollongong
Winger    Ian Moir    Port Kembla
Centre    Harry Wells Jnr    Wollongong
Centre    Paul McGregor    Dapto/Steelers
Winger    Rod Wishart    Steelers
Five-Eighth    Bob Fulton    Western Suburbs
Half-back    Trent Barrett    Steelers
Lock    Noel Mulligan    Port Kembla/Collegians
Second Row    Ron Costello    Collegians/Port Kembla
Second Row    Craig Fitzgibbon    Dapto/Steelers
Front Row    Steve Roach    Western Suburbs
Hooker    Kevin Schubert    Wollongong
Front Row    Craig Young    Thirroul/Corrimal
Reserve Back    John Dorahy    Western Suburbs/Steelers
Reserve Back    Shaun Timmins    Steelers
Reserve Forward    Bruce Olive    Western Suburbs/Dapto
Reserve Forward    Ben Creagh    University of Wollongong/Dragons
Coach    Harry Nolan    Port Kembla
Referee    Alf Grew