Junior Dolphins News

WELL, the 2006 football season may well have been run and won but the planning for 2007 has been in full swing for a number of weeks. Many changes to the Dolphin Oval complex will be obvious over the off-season with major redevelopment work to Talobilla Park already under way. This work will have the Talobilla fields at a top-notch standard for the start of next season. Also obvious to all who travel past the Leagues Club is the "great wall" of Dolphin Oval. The wall will soon become the new football building which will be the biggest around and will contain all of the necessities to cope with junior and senior football. It will house six huge dressing rooms, fully equipped gym for the seniors, meeting rooms, medical and strapping rooms for both home and away teams as well as storage room for equipment. While on the subject of equipment, the junior Dolphins have just purchased $2000 worth of tackle shields. We can all thank Redcliffe's Miss Junior Rugby League entrant Andrea Chapman for this purchase as the funds she raised this season paid for the shields and will also pay for more training aids in the coming months. A fabulous night was had by our coaches and managers in the Leagues Club last month. This night is to say thank you to a group of people who make it possible each weekend for the kids to enjoy their football, make friends and develop skills. The importance of these people is not lost on this club and will never be. We all enjoyed a wonderful meal, individual award for each team, trivia quiz and sing-a-long music by guitarist and vocalist Trevor Day. Officials from the Narangba Rangers Club also enjoyed the night and shared some stories of 2006. Congratulations to Jane Mulhern from the under 13 division 1 for taking out the Manager of the Year award for her efforts in 2006. Jane has a happy knack of finding a positive in every situation during the season and because of this the players, coach and parents all seem to enjoy their year a little more. Well done Jane. Our two development squads completed their commitments recently with matches against Wynnum's Development Academy. The under 13 to 15 squad proved too strong for the baysiders from Wynnum, winning 44-4. Nathan Karami and Kyle Hall were two of the home team's best on the night. The under 16 to 18 squad game did not pan out at all similar to the early match, even though we won 12-8. The squad of 2006 has shown maturity and discipline beyond its years. Their last two games for the season have been won in the final seconds. Best on the night were Mitchell Rivett and Ryan Best. Both squads have been great to work with all season and I am sure they learned a lot during 2006. Finally, congratulations to all of the award winners at junior presentations at the end of last month. The under 13s to 17s enjoyed a top night in the Leagues Club while the little fellas had a fun day on Dolphin Oval to cap off a super year. Coaching applications for next season should be received by me by the first week in November. The Junior Award winners were U18 PREMIER Best & Fairest Rhys Cooke Best Back Jack Reed Most Consistent Clayton Grant Most improved Cameron Durston

U17 PREMIER Best & Fairest Dayne Rogers Best Forward Mitchell Rivett Most Consistent Matthew Lennon Most Improved Nelson Lepou

U16 DIV 1 Best & Fairest Ryan Best Best Back Matt Chapman Most Consistent Billy Sasalu Most Improved Nelson Danny Light

U15 PREMIER Best & Fairest Steve Tunnicliffe Best Forward William Elemani Most Consistent Kyle Hall Most Improved Josh Newman

U15 DIV 2 Best & Fairest Michael Price Best Forward Jack Clarke Most Consistent Joseph Douglas Most Improved Scott Maxim

U14 PREMIER Best & Fairest Brett Coutts Best Back Joshua Eyre Most Consistent Barry Richardson Most Improved Andrew Kelly

U14 DIV 3 Best & Fairest Jason Rivett Best Back Billy McCartney Most Consistent Matthew Smith Most Improved Alex Milligan U13 PREMIER Best & Fairest Tia Pule Best Forward Luke Eustace Most Consistent Christian Morris Most Improved Taylor Ross U13 DIV 1 Best & Fairest Luke Brazier Best Forward Bradley Hebbard Most Consistent Ryan Nixon Most Improved Thomas Mathew

U13 DIV 3 Best & Fairest Adam Weier Best Back Scott Williams Most Consistent Jye Timms Most Improved Corey Askew Keith Howard Awards: U11 Premiers Dylan Sikimeti U11 Div 1 Mitchell Neilson U11 Div 2 Zac Anderson U11 Div 4 Tiaki Tuhoro