Kangaroos camp squad announced

The Australian Rugby League has announced a 44-man squad to go into camp this weekend with new coach Ricky Stuart.

The squad will meet to begin advance preparations for the Kangaroos' bid to win back the Tri Nations crown they lost to New Zealand last year. Andrew Johns, Ben Kennedy, Brent Tate, Craig Gower, Danny Duderus, Darren Lockyer, Petero Civoniceva, Shaun Berrigan, as well as players from the Wests Tigers side preparing to meet Bradford in the World Club Challenge, were not considered due to prior commitments.

Bolters for the squad include Melbourne youngster Greg Inglis and Parramatta halfback Tim Smith.

The full squad by club is:

Bulldogs: Andrew Ryan, Mark O'Meley, Willie Mason, Willie Tonga

Cronulla: Ben Ross, Brett Kimmorley

Manly: Brent Kite, Steve Menzies

Melbourne: Billy Slater, Cameron Smith, Greg Inglis, Matt King, Michael Crocker

Newcastle: Clint Newton, Steve Simpson

New Zealand Warriors: Steve Price

North Queensland: Carl Webb, Johnathan Thurston, Luke O'Donnell, Matt Bowen

Parramatta: Eric Grothe, Nathan Hindmarsh, Tim Smith, Timana Tahu

Penrith: Rhys Wesser, Trent Waterhouse, Luke Lewis

St George Illawarra: Ashston Sims, Ben Creagh, Ben Hornby, Dean Young, Jason Ryles, Luke Bailey, Mark Gasnier, Matt Cooper, Trent Barrett

South Sydney: John Sutton

Sydney Roosters: Anthony Tupou, Ashley Harrison, Braith Anasta, Craig Fitzgibbon, Craig Wing, Ryan Cross, Anthony Minichiello