Kear Names Squad for Featherstone

Hull FC?s head coach John Kear has named a twenty man squad ahead of Sunday?s friendly against Featherstone Rovers at the Lionheart Stadium (3:00pm kick-off).

Richard Whiting and Andy Bailey will return to their old stomping ground a year after signing for the Black and Whites whilst second rower Chris Chester will captain the side for the first time after making a successful comeback last weekend from a knee injury. Paul McNicholas is the only overseas player named in the squad of twenty.

Youngsters Kirk Dixon and Scott Wheeldon will get their chance as they unfortunately missed out against Hull KR on Sunday when international rules were put into practice by the RFL.

This weekend?s clash, however, will see no limitations on interchanges and the pairing will be out to impress Kear and his coaching team when called into action.

Dixon, the former Hull Ionians Rugby Union back, briefly tasted Super League action last season against Wakefield at the KC Stadium. Wheeldon, who plays in the front row, will make his debut after his promotion to the first grade squad from the club?s academy ranks.

Kear will also hand debuts to two other academy products in stand off Danny Washbrook and back row forward Matthew Dale. Both have been rewarded full-time professional contracts and have impressed during pre-season training.

Two of the four on loan London Broncos academy players will also feature. Winger Ade Adebisi and front row forward Louis McCarthy-Scarbrook have been included in Kear?s squad after signing for the club for the 2005 season.

Sunday?s game against National League One Featherstone will be the club?s final trial game before the squad jet out to Spain for a week?s warm weather training.

When the squad returns from camp they will face assistant coach Richard Agar?s old team York City Knights on Wednesday 26 January (7:30pm) where new Kiwi signings Stephen Kearney and Motu Tony will make their respective debuts.

Hull FC?s 20 man squad is as follows:

Ade Adebisi (Debutant); Andy Bailey; Richie Barnett; Shaun Briscoe; Danny Brough; Chris Chester (capt); Matthew Dale (Debutant); Kirk Dixon; Liam Higgins; Danny Hill; Graeme Horne; Andy Last; Louis McCarthy-Scarbrook (Debutant); Paul McNicholas; Gareth Raynor; Tommy Saxton; Danny Washbrook (Debutant); Scott Wheeldon (Debutant); Richard Whiting; Kirk Yeaman