Kearney shows faith in Eels team

PIRTEK Parramatta Eels coach Steve Kearney has primarily shown faith in his side beaten 38-0 stuck by the Melbourne Storm last Sunday, with minimal changes for the big Friday night clash against the Canterbury Bulldogs at ANZ Stadium

The only changes to the squad are Casey McGuire, who has recovered from a calf injury, returning to the hooking role in place of Anthony Mitchell and Carl Webb coming into an extended five-man bench.

Fuifui Moimoi goes into the starting front row in a swap with Shane Shackleton who drops back to the bench. The final four-man bench is to be decided.

Exciting 18-year-old centre Jacob Loko, 103kg and still growing, has been retained after making his debut against the Storm and will wear the number four jersey in a match-up with fellow giant, 20-year-old Jamaal Idris. This time last season Loko was playing in the Eels SG Ball (under 18 side) but has made tremendous progress and has benefitted from training regularly with the NRL squad although playing Toyota Cup until last weekend.

Jordan Atkins, the recruit from the Gold Coast Titans, retains his spot outside of Loko on the right side.

The Pirtek Eels will wear their heritage jerseys for this clash against their arch rivals who have such a competitive tradition dating back to the 1980s, which saw them play the only try-less grand 25 years ago in 1986.

The Eels did not wear the 1960s heritage strip, which dates back to when the club made the finals from 1962-65, in last week's Heritage Round because it clashed with the colours of home team Melbourne's heritage strip. But it is even more appropriate they don the jerseys worn by the Thornetts, Ron Lynch and others against their old foes this Friday.

The Pirtek Parramatta team to play the Bulldogs, 7.30, Friday night at ANZ Stadium is:

1.            Jarryd Hayne
2.            Luke Burt
3.            Joel Reddy
4.            Jacob Loko
5.            Jordan Atkins
6.            Daniel Mortimer
7.            Jeff Robson
8.            Tim Mannah
9.            Casey McGuire
10.          Fuifui Moimoi
11.          Nathan Hindmarsh (C)
12.          Taniela Lasalo
13.          Justin Horo
14.          Billy Rogers
15.          Shane Shackleton
16.          Mitchell Allgood
17.          Carl Webb
20.          Ben Smith
Coach: Stephen Kearney
NOTE: No one will wear No. 15 jersey


Toyota Cup v Bulldogs, ANZ Stadium, 5.20pm

1.            Marmin Barba
2.            Jacob Gagan
3.            Vai Toutou
4.            Trent Jennings
5.            Chris Ulugia
6.            Jason Wehbe
7.            Cameron Breust
8.            Ava Seumanufagai
9.            Daniel Mahoney
10.          Peni Terepo
11.          Pat O'Hanlon
12.          Matthew Eisenhuth
13.          Rory Brien (C)

14.          Dean Blackman
15.          Kyle Fraser
16.          Joseph Ualesi
17.          PJ Asiata

Coach: Matt Cameron