Kiwis trim squad; name team

South Sydney prop Roy Asotasi has been named as the new skipper of the New Zealand rugby league team which plays Australia at Suncorp Stadium on Friday night.

A veteran of 15 Tests, Asotasi takes over from Ruben Wiki, who has retired from Test football, and he will lead a side with three 20-year-old new caps when he runs out for the Anzac Test.

One of the newcomers is in the starting 13 - Parramatta back Krisnan Inu, who was a surprise selection when the original 19-strong squad was named yesterday. Inu, who has just one first-grade appearance to his name, will wear the No.1 jersey.

The other new caps are on the bench in the form of Brisbane utility Greg Eastwood and New Zealand Warrior prop Sam Rapira.

New Zealand: Krisnan Inu, Jake Webster, Iosia Soliola, Simon Mannering, Manu Vatuvei, Benji Marshall, Ben Roberts, Nathan Cayless, Dene Halatau, Roy Asotasi (c), Sonny Bill Williams, Tony Puletua, David Fa'alogo. Interchange: David Faiumu, Sam Rapira, Greg Eastwood, Frank Pritchard