Kurt Gidley, Steve Simpson named in NSW Origin team

Newcastle Knights forward Steve Simpson and utility back Kurt Gidley have been named in the New South Wales team to take on Queensland in the second State of Origin clash at Suncorp Stadium on Wednesday, June 11.

Simpson and Gidley have been named on the interchange bench replacing injured forward Ben Cross (thumb) and utility Ben Hornby.

Roosters forward Craig Fitzgibbon moves from the bench to the run-on side.

Dragons centre Mark Gasnier has also been named after earlier being ruled out with a hamstring injury.

The team however, is yet to be finalised. Raiders' Joel Monaghan has been called in as 18th man to cover for Gasnier. In addition, winger Jarryd Hayne is facing a dangerous throw charge following the Parramatta v Broncos match last weekend.

NSW Blues team - Origin II 2008 1. Brett Stewart (Manly) 2. Jarryd Hayne (Parramatta) 3. Mark Gasnier (St George Illawarra) 4. Matt Cooper (St George Illawarra) 5. Anthony Quinn (Melbourne) 6. Greg Bird (Cronulla) 7. Peter Wallace (Brisbane) 8. Brett White (Melbourne) 9. Danny Buderus (capt) (Newcastle) 10. Craig Fitzgibbon (Sydney Roosters) 11. Willie Mason (Sydney Roosters) 12. Ryan Hoffman (Melbourne) 13. Paul Gallen (Cronulla) Interchange 14. Kurt Gidley (Newcastle) 15. Anthony Tupou (Sydney Roosters) 16. Steve Simpson (Newcastle) 17. Anthony Laffranchi (Gold Coast)