Lions name Cup Final squad

The Victory Cup Final BARLA Great Britain Lions v Russia Thursday 20th May 2004 Big Sport Arena, Luzhniky, Moscow Kick Off: 6.00pm (local time)

BARLA Lions Manager Neil Baxter has announced the squad for tomorrow's Victory Cup Final.

Captain Tommy Goulden and BARLA Player of the Year Terry Lynn both face late fitness tests, but the Lions Management are hopeful that the duo will be fit to play.

If the Lions could lift the Victory Cup, it would complete an historic treble as they already hold the "Perpetual Trophy", played for against the Australian Aboriginals and last won in 2002, and the Emerging Nations World Championship, which they won back in 2000.

BARLA Great Britain Lions

1. Carl Rudd (Wath Brow) 2. Craig Calvert (Wath Brow) 3. Gavin Corfield (Wigan St Judes) 4. Paul Toole (Blackbrook) 5. Chris Lee (West Hull) 6. John McMullen (Wigan St Judes) 7. Daniel Kilshaw (Leigh East) 8. Paul Davidson (Wath Brow) 9. Darren Mitchell (Thatto Heath), 10. Mark Deans (Wath Brow) 11. Lee Wingfield (Leigh East) 12. DavePatterson (Leigh Miners Rangers) 13. Tommy Goulden (Leigh Miners Rangers) 14. Carl Hughes (Wigan St Patricks) 15. Scott Teare (Wath Brow) 16. Carl Jones (Wigan St Patricks) 17. Dave Goddard (Army) 18. Terry Lynn (West Hull)

In other news:


BARLA Lions Coach Mick Turner and his assistant Kevin Thompson have been doing their bit for rugby league in Russia.

They have taken time out from their busy schedule to hold a skills training session with members of the Russian Armed Forces and were helped out by a number of Lions squad, currently preparing for the Victory Cup Final.

Turner said, "It's an honour to have the chance to help develop the game of rugby league in Russia, especially with players serving in the Armed Forces.