Melbourne Storm side for Gosford clash with Souths

Melbourne Storm coach Craig Bellamy has named a 17-man squad for this Saturday's Round 17 clash against the South Sydney Rabbitohs. The game will be played at Bluetongue Stadium in Gosford from 5:30pm.

After Melbourne had the bye last weekend, they extended their lead at the top of the NRL ladder to four points thanks to Manly's upset 26-22 loss to the Dragons.

Bellamy has named all five of his Origin representatives in the starting line-up, hoping they get through Wednesday's State-of-Origin clash in Brisbane unscathed.

Billy Slater returns from injury to take his place at fullback, having recovered from two facial fractures he sustained in the Storm's Round 11 clash against the Sea Eagles in Sydney.

Steve Turner, who has been deputising for Slater at fullback, will take his place on the wing.

With Cooper Cronk still suffering from an ankle injury, James Aubusson has been named to start at halfback.

Israel Folau has not recovered from the hamstring injury he sustained against St George-Illawarra and won't take his place in the squad.

Starting team: 1. Billy Slater 2. Matt Geyer 3. Matt King 4. Anthony Quinn 5. Steve Turner 6. Greg Inglis 7. James Aubusson 8. Ben Cross 9. Cameron Smith 10. Brett White 11. Clint Newton 12. Ryan Hoffman 13. Dallas Johnson

Interchange: 14. Jeff Lima 15. Adam Blair 16. Jeremy Smith 17. Sam Tagataese